Bearnaise Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
doubled the recipe and very happy with end result, follow the recipe exactly and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Classic béarnaise sauce uses shallot instead of onion, so I substituted. I agree on a little less lemon and wine instead of vinegar, but this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great technique. No more constant whisking over a double boiler. Dried tarragon works great as well. Not sure it needed the mustard though. The flavor of this bearnaise is spot on without the time consuming tarragon reduction called for in a traditional recipe. Can't believe this takes 90 seconds. Be careful if you have a high wattage microwave though, I stopped to stir mine every 15 seconds and 30 seconds would have surely scrambled the eggs. Also make sure you stop when the sauce has just thickened, or else the eggs scramble and the sauce breaks. Mine was perfect after one minute and fifteen seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
DELICIOUS and NO FUSS! I've tried complicated bearnaise recipes and this one beats them all in flavor and ease of make. I listened to previous reviewers and halved the vinegar, lessened the lemon juice, and took it out of the microwave to whisk every 30 seconds out of the 1.5min cook time. The mustard added a great extra punch and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have made this twice now and the first time I found the vinegar to be overpowering. The second time I made a double batch and used 1 teaspoon of vinegar and 1 teaspoon of white wine and it was perfect! Love the ease of this and the flavor is great! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
We served this to 16 dinner club members with a filet and it was awesome. Made exactly the way the recipe was made and everyone loved it. I had it on my eggs the next morning and WOW so good. Will for sure use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Delicious! I will make Bearnaise sauce much more often now, this is so easy. I used shallots instead of onion and dried parsley instead of fresh. Be careful not to over-cook it. Mine only required 40 seconds to get to the right texture. If you overcook it the butter will separate out and mess us the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This bearnaise sauce was delicious! Chicken Oscar is one of my favorite dishes, but this was my first time making the bearnaise from scratch...and I will never go back to the packaged bearnaise sauce mix. I DID make some changes to the recipe...I didn't have any white wine vinegar so I used brown rice vinegar. I also omitted the cayenne and substituted dried parsley for fresh. I used half and half instead of cream and I also used the stovetop method because I prefer not to use a microwave. When I tasted it, it was a bit lemony (maybe from not having the heavy cream), so I added about 1 1/2 T of half and half and one more pinch of tarragon. This sauce was delectable atop my Chicken Oscar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good; very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelcatrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very easy to make and came out very smooth. Make sure to whisk it every 20-30 seconds. Substituted shallots for the onions & fresh tarragon for the dried tarragon. Microwaved the butter, herbs & shallots for a minute before adding the remaining ingredients to soften the herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bearnaise Sauce

Make this easy sauce to complement beef tenderloin or other hearty main courses.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States