Bearnaise Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I love Bearnaise sauce, but rarely ever made it because of the hassle (double boilers, time constraints, sauce breaking, etc.) Just a couple of weeks ago I discovered this recipe, and I've already made it twice. Some others have mentioned the acidity, but it doesn't seem excessive to me. In the future, I may experiment with tarragon vinegar rather than white wine vinegar, and I might use shallots rather than onion, but it's really wonderful "as is". I might also mention that I whisk after 7 seconds each time, because around the the edges of the bowl start thickening quickly, and I don't want the eggs to cook and curdle. It only takes about 45 seconds of actual cooking time in my microwave for this to heat and thicken. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Wow - I can't believe I was finally able to make a Bernaise sauce from scratch! I don't know that this was full on restaurant quality, but WAY better than the packet and so much easier than traditional recipes. I followed it very closely, except had to use dried Parsley instead of fresh, half & half instead of cream, and I made on the stove top. I liked having it on the stove top so that I could constantly stir it, only a took a few minutes. I whisked all other ingredients besides the butter together on the side, and then stirred that into the melted butter. Don't let the heat get too hot like I did (best to keep on medium low) as it did start to break up. But lowering the heat and vigorous whisking got it right back in shape. It continued to thicken on low heat. It tasted a little too acidic at first by itself, but once we put it on the steaks it balanced out beautifully. I am sure using fresh herbs and wine would make this even more amazing, so I will keep playing around with this recipe. Both my husband and I loved this and I can't wait to try it on eggs! I will definitely make again and I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Loved it! Had to substitute a lot of ingredients and it still didn't split! First time ever for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cori Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This came out thick and creamy and was good. I agree with the other critique that there was a bit too much vinegar. Next time I will cut it in half or use white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Very easy and very tasty! Simple to tweak to your liking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heidi Lee
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious, but cut about 1/3 of white wine vinegar if you want less acidity. So easy and fast. Thanks for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
doubled the recipe and very happy with end result, follow the recipe exactly and you can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Classic béarnaise sauce uses shallot instead of onion, so I substituted. I agree on a little less lemon and wine instead of vinegar, but this is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tahoe City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great technique. No more constant whisking over a double boiler. Dried tarragon works great as well. Not sure it needed the mustard though. The flavor of this bearnaise is spot on without the time consuming tarragon reduction called for in a traditional recipe. Can't believe this takes 90 seconds. Be careful if you have a high wattage microwave though, I stopped to stir mine every 15 seconds and 30 seconds would have surely scrambled the eggs. Also make sure you stop when the sauce has just thickened, or else the eggs scramble and the sauce breaks. Mine was perfect after one minute and fifteen seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Dog

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
DELICIOUS and NO FUSS! I've tried complicated bearnaise recipes and this one beats them all in flavor and ease of make. I listened to previous reviewers and halved the vinegar, lessened the lemon juice, and took it out of the microwave to whisk every 30 seconds out of the 1.5min cook time. The mustard added a great extra punch and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bearnaise Sauce

Make this easy sauce to complement beef tenderloin or other hearty main courses.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States