Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I liked it and yes I didn't have chillies or added all that salt but stil really good. This is not a pretty on the eyes kind of dish especially if you are using canned refried beans, even that stuff alone isn't gorgous. So all the bad reviews on looks are kind of a given, but for a budget "waiting for payday" kind of meal it's good. Quite filling too. I wouldn't say this is kid friendly unless your child isn't picky. I'd keep this on hand and make minor adjustments to taste. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quindara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I used ground turkey instead of ground beef and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This is a staple recipe in my house now. Even my two year old loves it. I decrease the seasoned salt and mustard to 1 tsp and leave out the 1/4 tsp salt. Great easy weekday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is just edible. Very dry and bland. I would never make again. The kids did not like it nor did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Interesting dish, I must say. I used instant white rice, left out the ground beef, and didn't use either of the salts. I was looking for a way to use refried beans I had. It isn't the prettiest thing to eat, but it was darn tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Good for a quick easy meal. Not amazing, but pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Ehhh...well, this was okay. My daughter liked it. My husband and I not so much. My youngest son wouldn't touch it, but that's nothing new! ;-) Not a terrible meal if this is all you have on hand, but I would not make a special trip out to get the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Family loved this recipe, but I found it just disgusting. I don't know if it's the cumin or the mustard, but I found it to be just a moshpit of gross. My picky boys loved it though, so its a toss up. It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Definitely needs some modification. Too much salt. We left out the 1/4 tsp of salt but used the season salt. Next time we will season and add a little salt to taste. We didn't have green chiles, but added chili powder and cayenne pepper and loads more hot sauce to compensate. Also, didn't have refried beans, but baked beans seemed to suffice. Need colour? Throw some fresh parsley on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larhanya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States