Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I think this would make a better dip than a dinner. I did an ingredients search since I was in a hurry and did not read the whole recipe before starting to prepare it. There is a reason there isn't a photo, I think. Nor did I take the time to check the reviews - first time ever! I depend on your reviews, good cooks. The recipe definitely has a Mexican flair but it's one of the few I've made without tomatos! I added them after seeing the drab color and mushy texture and because there wasn't enough fluid as I now see others also did. Adding a cheese topping to each hot bowlful and a dollop of sour cream added the needed color. The family enjoyed it overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This got 8 thumbs up at our house. Although my kids eat everything. I added mushrooms, black olives, tomatoes, and chili powder in lieu of the peppers, but would add the peppers if I had them. I used spicy beans, too. Finally I stirred brown rice right into the whole thing. My kids 12 & 9 have no problem with spice. We ate it with chips and guacamole. I have added this to the "meals to take skiing list." along with adding it to the meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fudge4U2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a good basic recipe that can be taken in so many different directions. I had to make some modifications based on what I had on hand. I used black olives in place of the green chilies as that is what I had on hand, and I figured the kids wouldn't go for the chilies. I used basmati rice, again, since that is what I had in the cupboard. At the end, I ended up adding canned diced tomatoes (pre-seasoned with basil, oregano, and garlic), for a little more color and added flavors. The kids really liked it, as did we adults, too. During dinner we were thinking of all the ways we could serve this: in a tortilla, as a burrito; as a dip on a plate with tortilla chips, sour cream, and cheese; add corn, fresh tomatoes, cilantro, salsa. Some great possibilities! This recipe is a keeper, and is very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
quick and easy, delicious, I added canned red kidney beans to the mix and the wole family loved it. Next time I think i'll try some shredded chedder on top and place the mix on a bed of shredded lettuce with sour cream on the side. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I little bland for my tastes. I had to add salsa and avocado to make it have more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Very tasty! We used black beans instead of refried. will definitely enjoy this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was very tasty, will definitely be making it again!! I was looking for a recipe in which I had all the ingredients in the house and this was one of the first that came up. I made it as instructed and added 3 or 4 tablespoons of ketchup to sweeten it up and it was delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Looks gross but tastes good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I love this recipe. I did not put in the seasoning salt and put in more mustard. Topped it with stewed tomatoes and garnished with shredded colby cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Weird recipe.... My kids thought it was okay and my husband actually took a bit of the leftovers to eat (in a tortilla) for lunch today, but I certainly will not make this again. It reminded me of dog food. The consistency was way too thick, it was bland brown in color, and all I could taste was the refried beans. Also, I think there must be a mistake in this recipe - 1 TABLEspoon of seasoned salt AND 1/4 teaspoon regular salt?? I just used 1 teaspoon of seasoned salt and it was too salty for our taste. Maybe this recipe could be better if you add more water, use regular beans instead of refried, and use way less salt....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AggieFan92

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States