Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This HEALTHY recipe has over 800 MG sodium per serving. the convenience of canned beans is very costly sodium wise. Use low sodium beans, home cooked beans, or at least drain and wash the canned beans. This will cut about 24% of sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
great recipe, but very high in sodium, I would suggest, rinsing the beans, and replacing the liquid with water. This would cut down on some of the sodium and make the recipe more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merideth L Berkovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackduck, Minnesota, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Next time I'll just buy a bag of 15 beans and go from there. I don't care for canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious and Easy! I sauteed fresh onion and garlic first, added the frozen spinach and enough broth to cover. Let that cook, then added the beans and spices. Even the kids ate some! (with help).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I liked it but noticed a slight bitter taste from the spinach. I would make it again but would add ingredients suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was okay, but not one of my favorites. The broth consists mostly of the water and salt out of the canned beans. It was pretty salty, but didn't have enough other flavors. I would recommend rinsing and draining the beans, then making your own broth by adding curry or other spices. To me, this recipe has way too much of a "straight out of the can" taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This was great. I did change it just a little though. I only used one can of veggie broth. Had chicken and beef bullion cubes as used one of each with 2 cups of water into the veggie broth. Left out the can of great morthern beans, glad I did, this is a very beany recipe. I also left out the oil, was soupy enough without it. Used garlic salt instead of powder and that also replaced the regulat salt. Oh and the the pinto beans I used had jalapenos in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
My family LOVED this soup! The combination sounds a little strange but the flavors go together perfectly. It was good the day I made it, the next day and I have some in the freezer for a quick lunch another time. I will definately keep the ingredients for this on hand and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Kind of bland for us. Not anything exciting. If we were ever to make it again, would have to add other veggies to it so that it would be more appetizing-looking and tasting. Too bad, so many people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Siam255

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I thought this recipe was very good and very nutritious. If you have a small family, I recommend cutting the recipe in half because the spinach gets too strong after two days. But other than that, I loved the variety of bans and the simplicity of the spicing. thanks for another great, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States