Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This HEALTHY recipe has over 800 MG sodium per serving. the convenience of canned beans is very costly sodium wise. Use low sodium beans, home cooked beans, or at least drain and wash the canned beans. This will cut about 24% of sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
great recipe, but very high in sodium, I would suggest, rinsing the beans, and replacing the liquid with water. This would cut down on some of the sodium and make the recipe more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merideth L Berkovich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blackduck, Minnesota, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Delicious and Easy! I sauteed fresh onion and garlic first, added the frozen spinach and enough broth to cover. Let that cook, then added the beans and spices. Even the kids ate some! (with help).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Very good! I added a can of diced tomatoes and 1c. diced onion, and substituted a quart of tomato juice for half the broth. Very good, very filling, and it freezes well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This was wonderful! It's so healthy and simple. I added a can of (no salt added) corn and a can of diced potatoes. Definitely a keeper. Everyone loved it! This cooks well in the slow cooker for 4 hours on High or 6-8 hours on Low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
This was okay, but not one of my favorites. The broth consists mostly of the water and salt out of the canned beans. It was pretty salty, but didn't have enough other flavors. I would recommend rinsing and draining the beans, then making your own broth by adding curry or other spices. To me, this recipe has way too much of a "straight out of the can" taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Next time I'll just buy a bag of 15 beans and go from there. I don't care for canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This is more like soup than anything else and it tastes okay but just okay. It is certainly healthy and easy but it could taste so much better if it was tweaked a bit. I would add onions, fresh garlic instead of powdered,red peppers tomatoes and some herb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
This was really, really good!! In the quest for healthier eating, we are trying to eat more beans, green veggies, etc. This recipe turned up on a search and I was a little skeptical about this combo. However, because of the high nutrition factor & the good reviews, I tried it anyway. Wow - was I ever surprised. It is totally tasy!! Definitely will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was much better than I expected--I made it because I needed to use up beans...anyway, I crushed 2 garlic cloves and added them instead of the garlic powder, and I used 1/2 vegetable stock & 1/2 chicken stock, because I didn't have enough veggie stock. I also sprinkled it with grated parmesan to serve--and it was really filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States