Beans and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Good, not exciting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I sauteed' garlic in oil and then added my dried beans that I soaked over night in water, this GREATLY reduced the sodium content for all you "healthy" reviewers. I simmered until beans were very soft and then I ran my knife thru a large bunch of kale and sprinkled with parmesan cheese..simple and healthy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I skipped the canned beans and used 1/2 cup each of dried beans that I had sitting around in opened packages: great northern, black, red kidney and pinto. I placed the beans with two quarts of water in a pressure cooker and cooked them for 40 minutes. While the beans were cooking, I sauted an onion and garlic for about 5 minutes, added 1 pound of fresh spinach and cooked for about 3 minutes and then added about 3 pounds of sliced tomatoes. I sauted this for about 3 minutes and then added vegetable broth and let simmer. When the beans finished, I drained them and rinsed thoroughly and added them to onion/spinach/tomato/broth mixture. I simmered everything for about 20 minutes and then served the soup. Everything came out great. The beans came out firm--not mushy. I will definitely serve this recipe again with the above changes. The original recipe author called this a stew. I served this as a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is a great, easy, fast, filling low-cal dinner. Since we are not vegetarians, I used chicken broth b/c it's what I had. Also, since there are only two of us, I used full cans of only the black, pinto and white beans, and cut other ingredients in half. Served with cornbread. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Sorry, but this just wasn't very good at all. It was a complete waste of food. I will definetly not make again. It was missing alot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynnshamrock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
We thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I sauteed an onion and some fresh garlic before proceeding with the rest of the recipe. I also added some sliced smoked sausage for my family of carnivores, doubled the great northern & pinto beans, and omitted the kidney beans (not a fan). Finally, we added lemon juice & Tabasco to our individual servings. This really kicked up the flavor & we had a fantastic meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This is really easy to make and so good for you too. When my son was just starting to eat solids, I would make this and put it through the food processor for him, he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I made a few changes....first I added onion and garlic. Used a leftover hambone in the stock and cook it for an hour before adding collard greens and beans....fantastic!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
As described, even if the beans are drained, it is way, way too salty - thus just three stars. However, if using dried beans, it would be really tasty! Overall, a great idea for a recipe if you get rid of the excessive sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This recipe is great! I substituted chicken broth, left out the spinach, added diced tomato and sautee'd onion and celery the first time I made it. My family requested it again just days later. The second time we made it, we added lima beans and didn't drain any of the beans. I am sure we will try many variations and love them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States