Beans and Franks Applesauce Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I wanted to try a new beans and franks recipe just because I had some apple sauce kicking around I wanted to use up, and I'm very sorry I did. My whole family hated it including my little boy. . I followed this recipe except for the onion...which is good cause I just would have wasted a 1/4 cup of onion too. It's safe to say I'll stick to my old fashioned beans and franks recipe. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Thanks a lot, this was a very different, flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I could taste each ingredient nothing blended together like I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashwic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Wonderfull thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I highly recommend using Bush's Steakhouse beans with this meal. The flavors all end up complimenting each other really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I have some room mates that insist on eating like kids. This has great taste compared to the regular franks and beans. Easy to make and very quick. Great for lunch or snack. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skot's Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antwerp, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I liked it, my boys didn't. I did things a little differently- I sauteed a whole, small onion along with two large cloves of garlic until tender then added the thinly sliced hot dogs. Cooked until all was lightly browned then took it off the heat. For the sauce/bean portion I used one regular sized can of original recipe beans with pork, 3/4 cup homemade chai spiced applesauce, 1 tablespoon each Dijon style mustard/ketchup/maple bbq sauce and a little liquid smoke. Whisked it all up then stirred in the hot dog/onion/garlic mixture. Topped with cheese. I likely won't make this again since I'm the only one who will eat it ;) But if there were a next time, I wouldn't use the bbq sauce, liquid smoke or cheese. I'd keep the rest as I mentioned the same. Served with cornbread muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This one has too much going on in it. The cheese and mustard flavors seemed out of place. Applesauce made it runny. Son picked out hot dogs and husband could hardly eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made it for the first time tonight while suffering from an Beanie-Weenie craving, and it was good! I used turkey franks and left the cheese off to bring the fat down, and dried onions instead of fresh since that's what I had. It did turn out soupy, however, so I think next time I will make it on the stovetop and let it cook down a bit - that's the reason for the 4 instead of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWolverine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I really liked this recipe. I was super excited for the kids to try it. However none of my three kids or husband liked it at all! I thought it had great flavor but ended up throwing most of it away unfortunatley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Brunch Egg Bake

See how to make a simple breakfast casserole with eggs, ham, cheese, and veggies.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States