Beans, Some Like It Hot! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This sounded interesting so thought I'd try it... I reduced the ginger to 2 Tbsp. To round this into a full meal, I added a bit of onion, a package of thawed frozen spinach, some mushrooms, and paper-thin carrot slices. It would be good with other veggies as well. I needed all the juice, so simmered it covered, and served over jasmine rice. It was delicious! Not at all too spicy, but I do like spicy things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
My husband and father-in-law (chile-heads) both loved this! It was a little hot for me, so the next I make it I'll take some of the coconut milk and pour it in a small saucepan and add half the hot ingredients to that pot so they can add the "hot sauce" to their taste and the main pot isn't too hot for me. And it reheats fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is an excellent vegan dish. I ended up also adding carrots, chiles, onion, squash and mushrooms to round it out and eliminate the need for a vegetable side dish. I also added to soft veggies (the mushrooms, squash, and bell pepper) very close to the end instead of at the beginning of the simmer. If you're the type who doesn't like super-soft and soggy vegetables, you should do this. It'll keep them a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee L

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
This is rapidly becoming one of my favorite dishes. The spice can be customized to your liking. This dish has a distinct Asian flavor, but is heartier than many other meatless dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
I love you!!! This recipe is great! Finally, a veggie recipe that stands up to my fire-loving taste! I even added more chili powder than was called for, and it was wonderful! Will make again soon!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I like this recipe, but, MAN it's salty! I've made this twice and both times found the salt overpowering (and I'm not one to shy away from the salt shaker). Good flavor, otherwise. I'd just recommend using half the salt the recipe calls for and adding more if necessary after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I thought there was way too much chili powder. I cannot taste the coconut or curry at all because the chili powder completely overwhelms the other flavors. I had to add Tabasco to give it some heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Restaurant quality and healthy! perfect as is, but also delicious with a can of diced tomatoes mixed in. The amount of spice was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I think there's a difference between "spicy" and over-spiced. I felt that this recipe was over-spiced to the point of it giving that chalky sensation in your mouth. The recipe was definately edible, just not one I'd save to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Fairly similar to something I make already, but the addition of ginger really kicked it up a notch. I'll continue to use my own recipe (onions, black beans, coconut milk, curry powder, mango) but will definitely add ginger next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States