Beans, Some Like It Hot! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is an excellent vegan dish. I ended up also adding carrots, chiles, onion, squash and mushrooms to round it out and eliminate the need for a vegetable side dish. I also added to soft veggies (the mushrooms, squash, and bell pepper) very close to the end instead of at the beginning of the simmer. If you're the type who doesn't like super-soft and soggy vegetables, you should do this. It'll keep them a bit crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee L

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Put the chili paste in last -- and sneak up on the quantity. Start with half teaspoon, stir, taste, then add more bit by bit until you get the heat right for you. I made it with ground beef and onions, and it could use a third can of any beans if you need to stretch it. Served it over basmati rice. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This is a very flavorful dish, although a little too salty for me. I will make this again but will reduce or even eliminate the salt. With all of the other spices, I don't think it will be missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I think there's a difference between "spicy" and over-spiced. I felt that this recipe was over-spiced to the point of it giving that chalky sensation in your mouth. The recipe was definately edible, just not one I'd save to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is the first recipe from this site that I gave a 5 star rating. I was afraid it was going to be too spicy for me, but it was just right. However, I only had to cook the mixture for at least half the time as suggested, don't know why. Awsome yummy beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
It's good thing I reduced the ginger, because 2 tbsps were plenty for my taste. I only used 1 tsp of chili powder and it was very spicy. I also used thai yellow curry paste the curry paste and instead of parsley I added a bunch of cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I didn't think this was BAD per se, but nothing to write home about. The volume of spices in this recipe made the sauce seem kind of pasty/gritty. Maybe I'll try it again with half the ginger that's listed, but that won't fix the pasty problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Fairly similar to something I make already, but the addition of ginger really kicked it up a notch. I'll continue to use my own recipe (onions, black beans, coconut milk, curry powder, mango) but will definitely add ginger next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This sounded interesting so thought I'd try it... I reduced the ginger to 2 Tbsp. To round this into a full meal, I added a bit of onion, a package of thawed frozen spinach, some mushrooms, and paper-thin carrot slices. It would be good with other veggies as well. I needed all the juice, so simmered it covered, and served over jasmine rice. It was delicious! Not at all too spicy, but I do like spicy things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Too spicy for me but my husband liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States