Beans, Some Like It Hot! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Rice and beans go together well, and I believe similar combinations exist in any culture using rice. My addition was a chopped onion I think there is some unwritten law about adding Onions to beans, but that may be my imagination. Even so: how can you add garlic without adding onions or at least a shallot? For my taste (I like spicy and hot foods) this is mild, but you can ramp it up at the table with pepper or hot sauce. I suggest starting at the recipe level and moving up or down on heat after your first venture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This was bad. I made it through about one serving and that was it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I like this recipe, but, MAN it's salty! I've made this twice and both times found the salt overpowering (and I'm not one to shy away from the salt shaker). Good flavor, otherwise. I'd just recommend using half the salt the recipe calls for and adding more if necessary after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I thought there was way too much chili powder. I cannot taste the coconut or curry at all because the chili powder completely overwhelms the other flavors. I had to add Tabasco to give it some heat and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This was great, healthy and different! I've been getting into indian foods since we went back to vegetarianism recently so this recipe sounded perfect, we eat a lot of beans! I added 1 tsp. of cayenne since my curry paste was 'mild', it still could have used more. Mine ended up being a mustard yellow color, unlike the photo above. I served on top of long grain brown rice. I can't stand coconut, but really enjoyed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Restaurant quality and healthy! perfect as is, but also delicious with a can of diced tomatoes mixed in. The amount of spice was perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Dough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
These beans are great! Even my 3-year-old loves them. After making this recipe a couple of times, I was able to settle on a version that suited our family's tastes a bit better - I use green curry paste, cut the turmeric to 1 tsp, and the chili powder to 1 heaping TBSP. We love eating it over jasmine rice, and sprinkling scallions and cilantro on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I added 2 tablespoons agave nectar, thinly sliced carrots and fresh spinach in the last 15 minutes of simmering. Also, left out garlic, curry paste and kidney beans. Served on a bed of jasmine rice and topped with lime marinated, pan seared tilapia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was so good! I didn't use as much of the spices and didn't even put in curry paste and it was so flavorful! I will definitely make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
It was OK, I was expecting it to be hotter; perhaps the spices I used are not as fresh as they should be... Flavour was so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States