Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe, despite its name, is the best "pasta e fagioli" on this site. I reduced the broth by about 1/4 because I like soups that are a bit thicker. It tastes okay as is if served w/ a generous topping of grated parmesan cheese. Without the cheese, it's a bit lacking in depth of flavor. By adding ~1 tsp. of lemon juice and a small pinch of chipotle pepper powder (to give a smoky flavor) I gave it enough flavor to stand on its own w/o the cheese. Anyhow, thank you, Lisa, for giving me the right proportions of ingredients for a real "pasta e fagioli". I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good base. I added kale, italian seasoning, extra garlic, and a rough chop anaheim pepper. will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I will have to admit, I was skeptical as this cooked. This was my first attempt at beans and greens and I'm not a big fan of greens. This was awesome! I cooked it and put it in the fridge overnight, put it back on the stove the next night and thickened it up then served it over rice. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDEN1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
LOVED this easy, quick and healthy soup! I used whole wheat elbow macaroni and sprinkled the soup with shredded parmesian cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was an easy and delicious soup! I used green onion which was great. I also used whole wheat pasta. I threw in a sliced carrot for color and it ended up a very pretty soup. I will definately make this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This soup is so simple and quick.There really is no prep and the whole thing can be done in under 30 mins. So flavorful. I have made this several times in the last year or so and have used both canned broth and my own. When I use canned I sometimes added additional garlic and onion powder but my own already has it. I also, usually just put in a couple of handfuls of frozen spinach and that works beautifully. I've sent to sick friends and they loved it and now I am sharing the recipe with others as well. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very delicious and easy to make. I used orzo. And even though it was a little bland, I will make this again. Next time I'll try using the garlic flavored chicken broth and more garlic (you can't have enough garlic!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe as it directed. It was good and filling without a ton of calories. It would be fine to add chicken to it but for me it was a nice change to not eat meat and still feel satisfied after eating a bowl of it. Nice on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious and can be made quickly. I ended up making the soup in the morning and added the spinach to it when I heated it up for dinner. I did add some italian herbs to it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WIFE2SP
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a very yummy soup--filling and comforting on this chilly, fall night. My only changes was that I didn't drain the beans because I like the thickness the liquid gives the soup. I also didn't have ditalini, so I broke up angelhair pasta. I always think beans can be a little tough, especially when they are canned, so I added a healthy squirt of ketchup to the water with the beans and pasta. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States