Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This soup is so simple and quick.There really is no prep and the whole thing can be done in under 30 mins. So flavorful. I have made this several times in the last year or so and have used both canned broth and my own. When I use canned I sometimes added additional garlic and onion powder but my own already has it. I also, usually just put in a couple of handfuls of frozen spinach and that works beautifully. I've sent to sick friends and they loved it and now I am sharing the recipe with others as well. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I love it. It is a very healthy soup. I could taste the garlic and the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bournemouth, Dorset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
THIS SOUP WAS GREAT. EVEN MY KIDS LIKED IT AND NEVER KNEW IT HAD SPINACH IN IT. THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy to make and tastes just like the Beans & Greens from a wonderful restaurant called Umberto's. I use a little more garlic, and add extra beans. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I used two cans of cannellini beans, acini de pepe past and 1 pkg frozen spinach. I would cut down on the pasta next time (very thick), 1/2c and needed to add additional broth. This was really good and easy. Great winter meal, very hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! You know when you are craving something and you can't put your finger on exactly what? Well, this soup was PERFECT! I used fresh, regular spinach and Great Northern White Beans and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I am a garlic addict, so I tripled the garlic. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a good soup. But (of course), I made a few changes: (a) instead of tiny pasta, I used Pearl Barley; (b) instead of Baby Spinach (which I love and use a lot), I used fresh green beans (not a particular family favorite, but they were on an INCREDIBLE sale; I mean $0.59/lb.); and (c) I quartered 3 medium sized tomatoes and "tossed them into the mix". Spiced to our liking, topped with a "cheese of your choice" (I usually keep at least 5 different varieties on hand) and served with a buttered "dense" bread (I used a SourDough loaf), we had no leftovers. I consider that a SUCCESS! Will make again (with Spinach. though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious and can be made quickly. I ended up making the soup in the morning and added the spinach to it when I heated it up for dinner. I did add some italian herbs to it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very delicious and easy to make. I used orzo. And even though it was a little bland, I will make this again. Next time I'll try using the garlic flavored chicken broth and more garlic (you can't have enough garlic!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States