Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe as it directed. It was good and filling without a ton of calories. It would be fine to add chicken to it but for me it was a nice change to not eat meat and still feel satisfied after eating a bowl of it. Nice on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLESF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Delicious and can be made quickly. I ended up making the soup in the morning and added the spinach to it when I heated it up for dinner. I did add some italian herbs to it. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WIFE2SP
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This was a very yummy soup--filling and comforting on this chilly, fall night. My only changes was that I didn't drain the beans because I like the thickness the liquid gives the soup. I also didn't have ditalini, so I broke up angelhair pasta. I always think beans can be a little tough, especially when they are canned, so I added a healthy squirt of ketchup to the water with the beans and pasta. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This is a good soup. But (of course), I made a few changes: (a) instead of tiny pasta, I used Pearl Barley; (b) instead of Baby Spinach (which I love and use a lot), I used fresh green beans (not a particular family favorite, but they were on an INCREDIBLE sale; I mean $0.59/lb.); and (c) I quartered 3 medium sized tomatoes and "tossed them into the mix". Spiced to our liking, topped with a "cheese of your choice" (I usually keep at least 5 different varieties on hand) and served with a buttered "dense" bread (I used a SourDough loaf), we had no leftovers. I consider that a SUCCESS! Will make again (with Spinach. though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I am a garlic addict, so I tripled the garlic. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made it exactly as the recipe stated and it was a little bland. I will try to doctor up the leftovers tomorrow and see if I can perk it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! You know when you are craving something and you can't put your finger on exactly what? Well, this soup was PERFECT! I used fresh, regular spinach and Great Northern White Beans and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a great soup! I used chicken stock instead of broth and I also added about six sprigs of fresh thyme (leaves only), juice from 1/2 a fresh lemon and a few dashes of McCormick "italian herbs" seasoning. I also added grated parmesean cheese and a little EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) to each individual serving - the EVOO & parm added to the presentation and the flavor was great. My hubby loved it and said this should be a keeper!! The leftovers tasted even better the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I used two cans of cannellini beans, acini de pepe past and 1 pkg frozen spinach. I would cut down on the pasta next time (very thick), 1/2c and needed to add additional broth. This was really good and easy. Great winter meal, very hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy to make and tastes just like the Beans & Greens from a wonderful restaurant called Umberto's. I use a little more garlic, and add extra beans. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States