Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
LOVED THIS SOUP! So easy to make and great flavor too! Made exactly as written and would not change a thing. Reminded me a little of the greens and beans that my family makes. This is definately going into the dinner rotation! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is an incredibly delicious and hearty soup (one I make often), especially considering its ease in preparation and its simplicity. I do love baby spinach but I love Swiss Chard even better, so I chose to use that instead, including the ribs, which I sliced like celery and simmered in the soup for ten minutes before adding the chopped leaves and the beans. On this occasion I also cooked the ditalini separately so I could control how much Hubs and I each put in our bowls. I also added some cooked chicken, a chopped, red-ripe tomato and finished each serving with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano. This soup is one of the best comfort foods I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Bland, until I added a shake of hot pepper flakes and shredded some real parm on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe, despite its name, is the best "pasta e fagioli" on this site. I reduced the broth by about 1/4 because I like soups that are a bit thicker. It tastes okay as is if served w/ a generous topping of grated parmesan cheese. Without the cheese, it's a bit lacking in depth of flavor. By adding ~1 tsp. of lemon juice and a small pinch of chipotle pepper powder (to give a smoky flavor) I gave it enough flavor to stand on its own w/o the cheese. Anyhow, thank you, Lisa, for giving me the right proportions of ingredients for a real "pasta e fagioli". I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Good base. I added kale, italian seasoning, extra garlic, and a rough chop anaheim pepper. will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I will have to admit, I was skeptical as this cooked. This was my first attempt at beans and greens and I'm not a big fan of greens. This was awesome! I cooked it and put it in the fridge overnight, put it back on the stove the next night and thickened it up then served it over rice. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDEN1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
LOVED this easy, quick and healthy soup! I used whole wheat elbow macaroni and sprinkled the soup with shredded parmesian cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was an easy and delicious soup! I used green onion which was great. I also used whole wheat pasta. I threw in a sliced carrot for color and it ended up a very pretty soup. I will definately make this in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This soup is so simple and quick.There really is no prep and the whole thing can be done in under 30 mins. So flavorful. I have made this several times in the last year or so and have used both canned broth and my own. When I use canned I sometimes added additional garlic and onion powder but my own already has it. I also, usually just put in a couple of handfuls of frozen spinach and that works beautifully. I've sent to sick friends and they loved it and now I am sharing the recipe with others as well. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was very delicious and easy to make. I used orzo. And even though it was a little bland, I will make this again. Next time I'll try using the garlic flavored chicken broth and more garlic (you can't have enough garlic!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States