Beans, Greens and Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe, despite its name, is the best "pasta e fagioli" on this site. I reduced the broth by about 1/4 because I like soups that are a bit thicker. It tastes okay as is if served w/ a generous topping of grated parmesan cheese. Without the cheese, it's a bit lacking in depth of flavor. By adding ~1 tsp. of lemon juice and a small pinch of chipotle pepper powder (to give a smoky flavor) I gave it enough flavor to stand on its own w/o the cheese. Anyhow, thank you, Lisa, for giving me the right proportions of ingredients for a real "pasta e fagioli". I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is an incredibly delicious and hearty soup (one I make often), especially considering its ease in preparation and its simplicity. I do love baby spinach but I love Swiss Chard even better, so I chose to use that instead, including the ribs, which I sliced like celery and simmered in the soup for ten minutes before adding the chopped leaves and the beans. On this occasion I also cooked the ditalini separately so I could control how much Hubs and I each put in our bowls. I also added some cooked chicken, a chopped, red-ripe tomato and finished each serving with freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano. This soup is one of the best comfort foods I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a great soup! I used chicken stock instead of broth and I also added about six sprigs of fresh thyme (leaves only), juice from 1/2 a fresh lemon and a few dashes of McCormick "italian herbs" seasoning. I also added grated parmesean cheese and a little EVOO (extra virgin olive oil) to each individual serving - the EVOO & parm added to the presentation and the flavor was great. My hubby loved it and said this should be a keeper!! The leftovers tasted even better the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe, easy to make and tastes just like the Beans & Greens from a wonderful restaurant called Umberto's. I use a little more garlic, and add extra beans. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Bland, until I added a shake of hot pepper flakes and shredded some real parm on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was very good. I made it as written using mini bow ties for my pasta. The only change I would make next time is to coarsely chop the spinach, rather than putting the leaves in whole. Even after wilting I thought some pieces were quite large. I also think frozen chopped spinach would work well in this. One word of caution – if you think you’re going to have leftovers, cook your pasta separately and add it to the soup when serving, otherwise the pasta will soak up a lot of the broth and you will no doubt have to add more broth to your leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Really a good soup if you season it well. IF you use ORZO, DO NOT use a full cup. I made it with a full cup and when I put it in the refridgerator overnight, the orzo soaked up ALL of the broth and all I had left was orzo and beans no broth at all. I would say 1/2 cup would be fine but definitely NOT a full cup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
LOVED this easy, quick and healthy soup! I used whole wheat elbow macaroni and sprinkled the soup with shredded parmesian cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Absolutely fantastic! You know when you are craving something and you can't put your finger on exactly what? Well, this soup was PERFECT! I used fresh, regular spinach and Great Northern White Beans and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family. I added a large can of diced tomato, and used chicken stock and mini bowties. I seasoned with some crushed red pepper, italian seasonings, some celery salt and some regular kosher salt, and pepper. I added some fresh grated parmesan to each bowl. This will definitely be in regular rotation during the cooler months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneSweetShannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Endwell, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States