Bean with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
the soup is just ok. My kids really like it, but I am on the fence. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Outstanding recipe! I used the whole pound of bacon half in the simmering soup and have added as garnish when serving. My daughter said it was "amazing!" Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have made this recipe several times and it is a VERY forgiving recipe. Recipe says to use bouillon or base, I've used canned chicken broth; chicken broth plus leftover ham broth and chicken broth plus Better than Bouillon base - they all work great! It's the bacon and cooking time that makes this recipe. If you don't measure all the liquids like I didn't and it looks too thick - add more (you can add more but you can't take it out!) But, do not get in a hurry, those navy beans take a long time to cook. I used to love Campbells bean & Bacon soup and this is all that but so much better. Great recipe glad I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
DELICIOUS! I added ham, cayenne pepper and an additional can of tomatoes. I also put my tomatoes in when I added the beans and let them break down a bit. A real winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Saracoot
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Amazing soup. Did change up a little double the beans, added extra broth, leftout some of the bacon grease, added carrots & garlic powder! Amazing results! Will make over & over during the cold months (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THEBUGSTER
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I am fairly inexperienced in the way of the bean, so this was outside my comfort zone a little. This turned out more like a spicy bean chilli than a soup for me. I think if you threw it all in the blender it would be more soup like. My hubby liked his with tortilla chips and I was wishing for a nice crusty french bread to go with mine. Keep your salt and pepper grinder handy as it needed a little more. Here is how I altered the recipe. I made a double batch so I could freeze a bunch. 1 bag of navy beans and 1 bag of great northern beans. (The store only had one bag of navy beans. Seriously.) I only eat grass fed meat, so I used 3 8oz. packs of Applewood Sunday brunch bacon. I cut it into five or six chunks rather than cooking strips of bacon. The bacon sort of shredded itself as I cooked it which was perfect. I accidentally pureed the onions rather than roughly chopping. (new food processor and I am clueless with the thing) so I didn't saute the onions in the bacon drippings. I added the onion mush in as it was. I added a heaping spoon of minced garlic and most of a bag of shredded carrot to the celery that I did saute in the bacon drippings. Once the carrots/celery/garlic were soft I scooped them out of the bacon grease with a slotted spoon and thew them in the stock pot for the soup. I didn't have bouillon, so I substituted organic chicken broth for the water. I used two cans of original Rotel for the canned tomatoes. I think that is some of the heat I get. Num.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
fantastic. we love this recipe, can't get enough of it. wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This soup is pretty fantastic! I agree with other reviewers, that a full pound of bacon isn't necessary, but it does allow you a piece in almost every bite. I doubled most of the ingredients in the recipe and still didn't have left-overs, as almost everyone who I shared it with went back for seconds. I made a couple key improvisations. You will definitely want more liquid than the recipe asks for if you want to have a more soup like consistency. I used about 32 ounces of chicken stock instead of bouillon and also added water. Unless you just don't like garlic, (crazy!) I would strongly recommend you throw a few pressed garlic cloves in while sautéing your onions and celery. 2 hints! 1. Taste while salting as there again is a lot of bacon 2. Add a dolup of whole plain greek yogurt or sour cream to each bowl Next time I will probably add some carrot and do half and half onion and leek for color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great bean and bacon recipe. I, like Nicolette, added diced carrots (no garlic though) for the colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Yummy this is good!! I followed the recipe exactly except added a chopped green bell pepper and used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of regular. Topped with shredded cheese and onions ...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States