Bean with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is a great bean and bacon recipe. I, like Nicolette, added diced carrots (no garlic though) for the colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Yummy this is good!! I followed the recipe exactly except added a chopped green bell pepper and used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead of regular. Topped with shredded cheese and onions ...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made this last night. I didn't think a pound of bacon was enough for this recipe and I added additional chicken broth. Four cups of water wasn't enough liquid for this. I didn't have clove or bay leaf so I omitted those also. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I did not add the ground cloves, or celery. For me the ground cloves would be a mistake, I left out the celery because my wife don't like celery. It would have been good with ham also. I used canned navy beans. Other than that It was a nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious and a hit with the family! I followed another review and added 2 large carrots - chopped and garlic when sauteing. 1 large onion was enough for us and I used 4 C. chicken brother rather than bouillon & water. Will add another cup liquid next time. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Wow! I don't normally like this type of soup but made if for my husband and by far this is the BEST soup I've made to-date! I used 2 cans of Northern Beans instead of the Navy Beans and also added 2 cans of Campbells Bean & Bacon Soup to build up the base. Make sure your chop up your bacon before cooking it...it makes it so much easier to cook without having to crumble it afterwards. I may have also added a few cubed potatoes. Beyond amazing! Try this soup, you won't be sorry:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Love this soup!! I add a couple of chopped carrots with the onion and celery. I also omit the cloves. My family loves this for dinner. And the leftovers freeze great for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was soooo good! I made a couple of adjustments, using what I had on hand. About half a pound of chopped turkey bacon, sautéed with the onions and carrots (I had no celery). I used a can of V8 instead of tomatoes, and it gave the soup the lovely orange color I remember from the Campbell's variety. I used the cooking water and a few splashes of Liquid Smoke, as suggested by other reviewers. This is going in the "Family Favorites" section of my cookbook. Can't wait to eat it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 41rice
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Wow! Considering I really dislike clove it was great and it turned out perfect in my new enameled cast iron 4.6 qt Dutch oven. To make sure the beans would be soft, I read others had trouble, I quick boiled let cool and refrigerated overnight then drained rinsed to begin cooking. Also, I used bacon trimmings that I buy in bulk and stewed tomatoes. The bacon trimmings have more flavor in my opinion for flavoring in beans and greens etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I don't care that it's a winter soup I made it in summer and I loved it but sadly use less bacon the the recipe called for but that doesn't change the fact that it's AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Cranberry Bean Ragout

See Chef John’s delicious take on homemade pork and beans.

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States