Bean and Tomato Stew with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Tasty stew with nice combination of herbs. Be prepared for major popping and splatters when you pour in the wine!! I recommend you have a lid handy to cover the pan to protect yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Made this for lunch today as I had all the ingredients on hand. Substitued fresh sage and thyme for the dried because I had it available in my garden pots. Very tasty! I almost ate the whole thing myself. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This was great served over Protein enriched thin spaghetti that had been seasoned with a little EVOO, butter,parsley & garlic,and black pepper, and Parmesan cheese. Will become a family standard based on taste, economy,and nutritional value.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This gets three stars only because it was so easy to make and I had everything in the pantry. The taste is at the most two stars (this after using fresh sage), but it served its purpose as a quick dinner for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Very-very tasty stew! Great combination of herbs. I used garbanzos instead of white beans and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This recipe is quite good, and is also cheap, easy, fast, tasty and healthy - an all-around winner! It was a little salty, even without any added salt, so I might rinse the beans off next time to get rid of some of the salt. I agree with another reviewer that the mixture of herbs was strong, but I liked it that way. I also used a ton of garlic. I thought about doubling the tomatoes because I really like tomatoes, but I tasted the mixture after adding the beans, and the balance of beans vs. tomatoes was perfect. I ate almost the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Delicious!!! One of the yummiest things I've ever made. I don't like meat, and I wanted to make something yummy and vegetarian for 4 friends who practically live on steak. We all LOVED this. So easy to make, too. Served with fresh breadrolls. Highly recommended :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I found this tasty and easy but not something I would rush to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This dish tastes absolutely fantastic! Only complaint that I have is that it doesn't feed four! I used a 19-oz can for both the beans and the tomatoes, and it only fed me 3 times :( haha looks like I'll just haveto make it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I thought I was only going to like not love this based on other reviews. WRONG! I love it. Perfect comfort food for a cold and rainy day. Very easy to make with my pantry staples. Only thing I changed was to use fresh herbs but I almost always do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States