Bean and Tomato Stew with Sage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Made this for lunch today as I had all the ingredients on hand. Substitued fresh sage and thyme for the dried because I had it available in my garden pots. Very tasty! I almost ate the whole thing myself. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
Very-very tasty stew! Great combination of herbs. I used garbanzos instead of white beans and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Tasty stew with nice combination of herbs. Be prepared for major popping and splatters when you pour in the wine!! I recommend you have a lid handy to cover the pan to protect yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Can't get much easier! This stew was simple to make, and needed very little attention while simmering, granting me the opportunity to finish cleaning up the kitchen and set the table. Very satisfying, while compatible with low-cal dieting. Just short of 5 stars because the herbs are borderline over-powering. Tasty, but a bit too much competition with the simplicity of the beans and tomatoes. Still a keeper - this is a great warmer-upper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFALO GAL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otisco, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
I'm at a loss for words... 2 stars is a generous rating from me for this recipe. I didn't like this stew at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
This gets three stars only because it was so easy to make and I had everything in the pantry. The taste is at the most two stars (this after using fresh sage), but it served its purpose as a quick dinner for one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I omitted the sage and used some basil. It tasted a lot like italian spaghetti sauce. Might have been a lot better if I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne Ortiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallingford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This recipe is quite good, and is also cheap, easy, fast, tasty and healthy - an all-around winner! It was a little salty, even without any added salt, so I might rinse the beans off next time to get rid of some of the salt. I agree with another reviewer that the mixture of herbs was strong, but I liked it that way. I also used a ton of garlic. I thought about doubling the tomatoes because I really like tomatoes, but I tasted the mixture after adding the beans, and the balance of beans vs. tomatoes was perfect. I ate almost the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I actually thought this was delicious. I cut back on the olive oil and upped the garlic. I also used fresh sage (which I think made a big difference). I subbed butter beans, as well. This recipe hit my requirements for being cheap and easy, as well as reasonably healthy. I will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I just finished eating a bowl of this stew. I'm a vegetarian, so this dish is perfect for me! I've never cooked with sage before, but both the smell and taste are absolutely delicious! I couldn't find the cannellini beans called for in the recipe, so I went on the advice of someone elses previous review and bought garbanzo beans. I am NOT a big bean eater, but the ingredients sounded delicious together. I loved the tomato, sage, and thyme flavor combination, but I was not crazy about the beans at all! (I doubled the recipe to 8 servings, which called for 2 cans of beans. One would have been more than enough for me.) The sage gave it a nice winter-time taste, but I will probably not make this again unless my boyfriend requests it. It has a great flavor, but not too crazy about the beans! I substituted chicken broth for white wine, and it tasted fine that way, but I would recommend cutting back a little bit on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lehttp://allntil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Tomato Mint Quinoa Salad

This simple quinoa salad is a great change of pace from pasta or rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States