Bean and Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thought this was great and simple. I really didn't change much in this recipe. I'm not a huge fan of soaking beans so I bought canned beans. I threw everything into my slow cooker and cooked on medium for 6 hours because I started making this a little later than anticipated. The only thing I did different is I used a chub pack of Italian sausage NOT in a casing. I live near a college that processes and sells fresh meat they make in their meats lab and that's what I had on hand. Besides that, I omitted the celery. I'm not a big fan of celery so I left it out. I thought it was just yummy! Can't wait to eat the leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I thought this was very good!!! I used canned beans instead, and yellow squash instead of peas and added about 1 TBSP of brown sugar. This was a nice yummy soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This soup is great! If you use dried beans, you can really control the sodium content (I did use canned because I was short on time, but next time will use dried). I also used lower sodium chicken broth. This recipe is full of vegetables, has no added processed "junk" and the flavor is clean, allowing the ingredients work together naturally. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
It was food and edible but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Excellent recipe. I did substitute canned beans, and omitted the carrot. My husband could not get enough of this soup. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Great recipe. I don't have a slow cooker, so I just modified for stove top. Skipped the red bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
The beans were tough and the flavor was boring. I even tried cooking the beans longer before adding the wine and tomatoes and it still didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe! The taste can vary depending on your choice of beans, so keep that in mind. We used a 9-bean blend that was delicious. I was a little paranoid about ending up with crunchy beans after reading the other reviews, so I soaked the beans overnight in the crockpot on "warm" (not low). It was bubbling the next morning, but the beans were soft. I then drained the water and replaced with chicken broth, garlic powder, onions, onion powder, basil, and celery, salt and pepper. It was cooked to perfection by noon. Serve over a hearty long-grain rice and it is a complete meal. Very tasty! We generally do not eat beans as a main dish, but I could easily eat this once or twice a week. It is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YMATLOSZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Did not like. We eat a lot of bean soups, and this one just sat in the fridge until I finally tossed it. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dixon, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Bean texture and bland taste were big issues. Followed the directions on the Goya bag by boiling for 2 minutes and then standing covered for an hour. Also changed the water several times and soaked for about 24 hours at room temperature. Beans still a little crunchy in slow cooker despite 8 hours on warm, about 4 on high and 5 on low. Final texture after all this cooking was more like stew. Added 2 cloves garlic, 2 tsp basil, 16 peppercorns, 1 bay leaf and 3 chicken bouillon cubes and am still not happy with the taste. Definitely will not try again and actually will steer clear of dry bean recipes based on this experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States