Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I added a couple of diced potatoes, and served it with a rotisseried pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This soup was amazing. I used garlic paste instead of minced garlic, real onions, added a can of green chiles since the can of diced tomatoes I had on hand did not come with them. Used vegetable broth instead of water. I also put parmesan and shredded mild cheddar cheese before serving on top and served with garlic bread. YUM. My husband was hungry and started serving it after an hour on the stove and it was not until after we ate it, I realized I did not do the last step with the beans, basil and oregano. But it was really good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious! I made it for dinner tonight, and it was really really good. I made a few changes: I used frozen kale, defrosted it in water and then put it in. I also used less Kale then what is called for. I used one and a half cans of beans, and I washed them before I put them in. I sauteed mushrooms with the onions. I also put some Franks Hot Sauce in it, it gave it a nice tangy flavor. When I put it in my bowl, I topped it with parmesan cheese and ate it with crusty sourdough bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yum yum is all I have to say!! I just added more garlic and a little wine as suggested. I will be making this again!! Didn't use onion powder or basil and used T of dry oregano. Also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have enough kale so I added a zucchini too, at the same time the tomatoes and everything is added. Also, I only had regular diced tomatoes, but happened to have a yellow bell pepper so I threw that in with the onions and kale. The dish looked great and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was really tasty, and much more hearty than you'd expect. I'll certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
delicious! added some kielbasa too. can't go wrong with that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was great! I reduced the beans to one can and threw in regular diced tomatoes, adding red pepper flakes to make it spicier (I can't find canned tomatoes with chilis). I also used dried herbs to save money. Used chicken broth as another reviewer suggested. I did this in the slow cooker, and it turned out to be very, very tasty, with very little hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Oh my god this is so good!! I made it once without the onion powder then the 2nd time with it and found it to make a difference. Didn't have fresh oregano an parsley so I used dried and still tastes great. Kale is a great source of proteins and fiber as well as the beans. Also added some red pepper flakes like others suggested and the little kick was great! Totally recommend this for a good healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States