Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I loved it. Surprisingly good. Will make again and again. Keeps and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
An awesome dish! We used chicken broth and a little white wine. Also used fire-roasted tomatoes and substituted shallots for onions. Skipped the croutons (will try that some other time) and served over whole wheat angel hair pasta. A little parmesan on top was a nice addition. It was a filling and delicious meal. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have a mixed family of vegetarians and carnivores, so this is a perfect recipe that pleases everyone. I add diced chicken for the meat eaters. I also reduced to one can of beans, and threw in a handful of orzo to add a little more bulk and it was perfect. My husband thinks vegetarian meals lack substance, but he loved this dish! It's hearty for a vegetable stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Oh my god this is so good!! I made it once without the onion powder then the 2nd time with it and found it to make a difference. Didn't have fresh oregano an parsley so I used dried and still tastes great. Kale is a great source of proteins and fiber as well as the beans. Also added some red pepper flakes like others suggested and the little kick was great! Totally recommend this for a good healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I only had half the kale, so I halved all ingredients except the can of tomatoes (I just didn't want to figure out what to do with another half a can of tomatoes). I also used a whole can of diced chilies since my tomatoes did not have them. Used dry oregano and basil, so I put those in with the other seasonings in the beginning instead of the end of cooking. Other than that kept to the recipe. I really like this! Great combo of flavors. Served with a tuna melt and made for a great and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This soup was amazing. I used garlic paste instead of minced garlic, real onions, added a can of green chiles since the can of diced tomatoes I had on hand did not come with them. Used vegetable broth instead of water. I also put parmesan and shredded mild cheddar cheese before serving on top and served with garlic bread. YUM. My husband was hungry and started serving it after an hour on the stove and it was not until after we ate it, I realized I did not do the last step with the beans, basil and oregano. But it was really good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was great! I reduced the beans to one can and threw in regular diced tomatoes, adding red pepper flakes to make it spicier (I can't find canned tomatoes with chilis). I also used dried herbs to save money. Used chicken broth as another reviewer suggested. I did this in the slow cooker, and it turned out to be very, very tasty, with very little hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I thought this was good, but I did find it a bit bland. I did add red pepper flakes, but I would try adding red wine next time as some reviewers suggested. I served it over pasta to make it a heartier meal, and it was a tad dry. If you want to put it over pasta I would suggest increasing the diced tomatoes. There were non-vegetarians at our meal who added sausage on top, and they seemed to enjoy the meal more. If you want to use up Kale, I strongly suggest the "Kale Puttanesca" recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
delicious! added some kielbasa too. can't go wrong with that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States