Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I was hoping the beans would give it enough substance to please a certain someone, but I ended up having to add some diced ham to entice him to eat it. I would enjoy this as is, and will probably make for myself again - reheats nicely for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Yummy and easy. Will definitely make again the next time I have kale. There are so few recipes that use kale but not pork. This recipe has a pleasant heat and really calls out for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have enough kale so I added a zucchini too, at the same time the tomatoes and everything is added. Also, I only had regular diced tomatoes, but happened to have a yellow bell pepper so I threw that in with the onions and kale. The dish looked great and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
On it's own very good. I thought the juices were a little weak so added 3 T. of sun dried tomato paste. Also added 1 lb. of (venison) Italian sausage sliced 1/2". Served this on top of angel hair pasta and it was a very satisfying and healthy dinner. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious! I made it for dinner tonight, and it was really really good. I made a few changes: I used frozen kale, defrosted it in water and then put it in. I also used less Kale then what is called for. I used one and a half cans of beans, and I washed them before I put them in. I sauteed mushrooms with the onions. I also put some Franks Hot Sauce in it, it gave it a nice tangy flavor. When I put it in my bowl, I topped it with parmesan cheese and ate it with crusty sourdough bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this! I used up a bunch of kale that had been sitting in my fridge for over a week and it was still very tasty. Because I like things with a little kick I added red pepper flakes on top and it was great. I think it needs a little something to deepen the flavor a little. Next time I make this I think I'll add a splash of red wine to the onions and kale and let it simmer down and add some fresh grated parm/romano on top at the end. If you *must* have meat this would probably be good with some sliced Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yum yum is all I have to say!! I just added more garlic and a little wine as suggested. I will be making this again!! Didn't use onion powder or basil and used T of dry oregano. Also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good recipe, Not fantastic. I love kale and make it quite often. This is towards the bottom of my list of things to make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Ok, so I didn't have most of the ingredients, but still the dish came out pretty good. I used canola oil instead of olive, garbanzo beans and garlic powder since I didn't have any cloves. I also had to use a metal pot instead of a deep pan. This is the kind of dish that you can experiment with different kinds of spices and vegetables, as long as you get the water and oil proportions right. I guess my only complaint is that it took an hour to cook, but the time is worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a keeper, I added some red pepper flakes and subbed one of the can of beans for hominy. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States