Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Ok, so I didn't have most of the ingredients, but still the dish came out pretty good. I used canola oil instead of olive, garbanzo beans and garlic powder since I didn't have any cloves. I also had to use a metal pot instead of a deep pan. This is the kind of dish that you can experiment with different kinds of spices and vegetables, as long as you get the water and oil proportions right. I guess my only complaint is that it took an hour to cook, but the time is worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Good recipe, Not fantastic. I love kale and make it quite often. This is towards the bottom of my list of things to make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yum yum is all I have to say!! I just added more garlic and a little wine as suggested. I will be making this again!! Didn't use onion powder or basil and used T of dry oregano. Also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I really enjoyed this! I used up a bunch of kale that had been sitting in my fridge for over a week and it was still very tasty. Because I like things with a little kick I added red pepper flakes on top and it was great. I think it needs a little something to deepen the flavor a little. Next time I make this I think I'll add a splash of red wine to the onions and kale and let it simmer down and add some fresh grated parm/romano on top at the end. If you *must* have meat this would probably be good with some sliced Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious! I made it for dinner tonight, and it was really really good. I made a few changes: I used frozen kale, defrosted it in water and then put it in. I also used less Kale then what is called for. I used one and a half cans of beans, and I washed them before I put them in. I sauteed mushrooms with the onions. I also put some Franks Hot Sauce in it, it gave it a nice tangy flavor. When I put it in my bowl, I topped it with parmesan cheese and ate it with crusty sourdough bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
On it's own very good. I thought the juices were a little weak so added 3 T. of sun dried tomato paste. Also added 1 lb. of (venison) Italian sausage sliced 1/2". Served this on top of angel hair pasta and it was a very satisfying and healthy dinner. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
This was excellent! I didn't have enough kale so I added a zucchini too, at the same time the tomatoes and everything is added. Also, I only had regular diced tomatoes, but happened to have a yellow bell pepper so I threw that in with the onions and kale. The dish looked great and tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Yummy and easy. Will definitely make again the next time I have kale. There are so few recipes that use kale but not pork. This recipe has a pleasant heat and really calls out for bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I was hoping the beans would give it enough substance to please a certain someone, but I ended up having to add some diced ham to entice him to eat it. I would enjoy this as is, and will probably make for myself again - reheats nicely for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States