Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very tasty. I added some kielbasa and added a cup of chicken stock with the water to make it more soupy. Also used two cans of tomatoes and left out the basil since I didn't have any. I will defintely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I've never had kale before and was pleasantly surprised - very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Good not great. Was a little bland -- had to add extra cumin. Used chicken broth instead of water and tomatoes w/out green chile peppers because of my 3 yo. This would be good with ham or sausage. I also topped it with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Pretty Bland. I only added the one can of beans like other people have suggested. I also used chicken broth (instead of water, roasted tomatoes and red pepper flakes. It was too soupy/watery to serve over pasta. So I stirred in some cooked Iraeli coucous (the large size coucous) and ate it with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on it. Reminded me of minestrone soup. It was better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Delicious and healthy too! We added about 4 links of turkey italian sausage and it was great. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made some changes: I used only one can of cannellini beans, which seemed like just the right amount. I also used one can of plain peeled tomatoes, and added some red pepper flakes, and I squeezed some fresh lemon juice onto everything just before eating, which was a nice touch. This is an easy recipe to make and quite tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I loved it. Surprisingly good. Will make again and again. Keeps and reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
An awesome dish! We used chicken broth and a little white wine. Also used fire-roasted tomatoes and substituted shallots for onions. Skipped the croutons (will try that some other time) and served over whole wheat angel hair pasta. A little parmesan on top was a nice addition. It was a filling and delicious meal. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I have a mixed family of vegetarians and carnivores, so this is a perfect recipe that pleases everyone. I add diced chicken for the meat eaters. I also reduced to one can of beans, and threw in a handful of orzo to add a little more bulk and it was perfect. My husband thinks vegetarian meals lack substance, but he loved this dish! It's hearty for a vegetable stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cranberry Bean Ragout

See how to make a simple cranberry bean and fresh corn ragout.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States