Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I made this Italian, leaving out the tomato/chiles, and cumin. Sauteed a chopped onion with a cup of mushrooms, a diced small red bell pepper, a minced garlic clove in a tsp of veg. oil with the lid on to let them steam and reduce down, then added a 1/2 cup chicken broth, splash of white wine, 1 can of beans, a T. of Italian herb blend, 1/3 cup chopped dried tomatoes in oil and 1 chopped fresh Roma tomato and tossed with a whole plastic tub of baby kale. This simmered covered while I boiled 1/2 cup WW elbow pasta, which I stirred in with a good splash of Sherry vinegar to brighten the flavors. Before serving I stirred in some fresh basil and drizzled some good olive oil on with just a little sprinkle of parmesan when serving. It was such a good and satisfying vegetarian meal for two. Thank you for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Delicious and healthy. Even my meat-loving husband loved the dish and he doesn't normally care for kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I was satisfied with this recipe. A vegetable bouillion "cube" was added for flavor as well as some leftover pork chop, chopped. I used baby kale so it needed less cooking time. The results were tasty over quinoa. Thanks Stefanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I loved this one! I used vidalia onion of choice, used already pre-cut/washed kale.....upped the cumin to about 2 teaspoons cause I love it....also added some chili powder...used dried oregano and basil since I had none fresh....and of course added some major hot red pepper chili flakes....good and healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I loved this, but the family was not interested. You don't have to cook it for so long. Cut out the heavy rib from the Kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This was SO good! I served it with the braised pork ragu that I found on this site and four cheese risotto - Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
It was not difficult to make and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong, but my husband and I found this to be very very bland. I used chicken broth instead of water, as per other suggestions, wine, and even added extra Italian seasoning in addition to the recommended seasoning. It wasn't -bad-, it just had very little flavor, even with the additions. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLIKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
A bit too coarse in texture...I ended up turning it into a kale and bean soup which was pretty awesome though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mblanzaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This would probably be good if you *really* like kale. I wasn't a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States