Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yum yum is all I have to say!! I just added more garlic and a little wine as suggested. I will be making this again!! Didn't use onion powder or basil and used T of dry oregano. Also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was great! I reduced the beans to one can and threw in regular diced tomatoes, adding red pepper flakes to make it spicier (I can't find canned tomatoes with chilis). I also used dried herbs to save money. Used chicken broth as another reviewer suggested. I did this in the slow cooker, and it turned out to be very, very tasty, with very little hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is delicious! I made it for dinner tonight, and it was really really good. I made a few changes: I used frozen kale, defrosted it in water and then put it in. I also used less Kale then what is called for. I used one and a half cans of beans, and I washed them before I put them in. I sauteed mushrooms with the onions. I also put some Franks Hot Sauce in it, it gave it a nice tangy flavor. When I put it in my bowl, I topped it with parmesan cheese and ate it with crusty sourdough bread. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Oh my god this is so good!! I made it once without the onion powder then the 2nd time with it and found it to make a difference. Didn't have fresh oregano an parsley so I used dried and still tastes great. Kale is a great source of proteins and fiber as well as the beans. Also added some red pepper flakes like others suggested and the little kick was great! Totally recommend this for a good healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ehguy11
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really tasty, but I added a lot of extras. 1 sliced carrot, 3 stalks sliced celery, a dash of red wine, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, and some Cajun seasoning. And I changed out vegetable broth for the water. I served it on a bed of couscous. Very, very good! (PS--You can buy the can of diced tomatoes with green chile peppers at Aldi's)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ehguy11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I thought this was good, but I did find it a bit bland. I did add red pepper flakes, but I would try adding red wine next time as some reviewers suggested. I served it over pasta to make it a heartier meal, and it was a tad dry. If you want to put it over pasta I would suggest increasing the diced tomatoes. There were non-vegetarians at our meal who added sausage on top, and they seemed to enjoy the meal more. If you want to use up Kale, I strongly suggest the "Kale Puttanesca" recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I was hoping the beans would give it enough substance to please a certain someone, but I ended up having to add some diced ham to entice him to eat it. I would enjoy this as is, and will probably make for myself again - reheats nicely for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very good! My husband had never eated kale before, and he had seconds. (I added a litte salsa to give it more flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
We really enjoyed this. I did have to increase the cumin, and like some other reviews suggested I added some red wine and crushed red pepper flakes. The spicy pepper really complemented the dish well. I served this over a simple onion and garlic quinoa pilaf for a healthy, clean meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
Ok, so I didn't have most of the ingredients, but still the dish came out pretty good. I used canola oil instead of olive, garbanzo beans and garlic powder since I didn't have any cloves. I also had to use a metal pot instead of a deep pan. This is the kind of dish that you can experiment with different kinds of spices and vegetables, as long as you get the water and oil proportions right. I guess my only complaint is that it took an hour to cook, but the time is worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States