Bean and Kale Ragu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Oh my god this is so good!! I made it once without the onion powder then the 2nd time with it and found it to make a difference. Didn't have fresh oregano an parsley so I used dried and still tastes great. Kale is a great source of proteins and fiber as well as the beans. Also added some red pepper flakes like others suggested and the little kick was great! Totally recommend this for a good healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I only had half the kale, so I halved all ingredients except the can of tomatoes (I just didn't want to figure out what to do with another half a can of tomatoes). I also used a whole can of diced chilies since my tomatoes did not have them. Used dry oregano and basil, so I put those in with the other seasonings in the beginning instead of the end of cooking. Other than that kept to the recipe. I really like this! Great combo of flavors. Served with a tuna melt and made for a great and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This soup was amazing. I used garlic paste instead of minced garlic, real onions, added a can of green chiles since the can of diced tomatoes I had on hand did not come with them. Used vegetable broth instead of water. I also put parmesan and shredded mild cheddar cheese before serving on top and served with garlic bread. YUM. My husband was hungry and started serving it after an hour on the stove and it was not until after we ate it, I realized I did not do the last step with the beans, basil and oregano. But it was really good anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This was great! I reduced the beans to one can and threw in regular diced tomatoes, adding red pepper flakes to make it spicier (I can't find canned tomatoes with chilis). I also used dried herbs to save money. Used chicken broth as another reviewer suggested. I did this in the slow cooker, and it turned out to be very, very tasty, with very little hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I thought this was good, but I did find it a bit bland. I did add red pepper flakes, but I would try adding red wine next time as some reviewers suggested. I served it over pasta to make it a heartier meal, and it was a tad dry. If you want to put it over pasta I would suggest increasing the diced tomatoes. There were non-vegetarians at our meal who added sausage on top, and they seemed to enjoy the meal more. If you want to use up Kale, I strongly suggest the "Kale Puttanesca" recipe from this site. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
delicious! added some kielbasa too. can't go wrong with that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was really tasty, and much more hearty than you'd expect. I'll certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I added a couple of diced potatoes, and served it with a rotisseried pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This is a keeper, I added some red pepper flakes and subbed one of the can of beans for hominy. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States