Bean and Beef Shaloupias Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Chalupa ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb Root

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I think has potential and is an Americanized version of Chalupas. I added about 1/2 c. of diced canned tomatoes to the beans and a packet of Knorr Home style Beef Stock. Chalupas are served on sopes. KristieV doesn't tell how to prepare the corn tortillas. If they are not fried they will turn soggy, gritty and unpalatable when topped with the beans. She also does not say what size ladle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
this was a simple yet good recipe. i love ordering tostadas at mexican restaurants and this reminded me of them. i cooked my beans in crockpot all day until tender but wound up just mashing them and adding to the meat mixture so the meat and beans would stick to the tortilla.i heated the tortillas in the oven until they were crisp but not completely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
beans dried out in crock pot! need more water. very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coolmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I thought this stuff was pretty blah. It did mark the first time I'd ever cooked dried beans (prepared according to the package directions). I made it exactly as written, using ground sirloin (90% lean) for the ground beef. A little salt and pepper, and the diluted beef bouillon, are still not nearly enough spices to make this a tasty Mexican-style dish. I ate the first few as overstuffed tacos, but it was pretty messy, so I ate the rest with a knife and fork, like a tostada. One complaint is that I found there were way too many beans for 10 of these. I thought I was generous when ladling the beans on, and when it was over I still had two full bowls of a bland "beans in beef broth" soup left over. This recipe has potential, but as written it's only a vague approximation to a great dish. Lastly, I'd always known these as "chalupas", but maybe you're just having fun with the name of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
* I STARTED AT 10 AM AND DID FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS TO BOIL THE BEANS UNTIL THEY WERE SWELLINGWITH 2-4 MORE BEEF BOULION COUBES DUMPER THE WATER AND AGAIN ADDED BEEF BOULION AS DIRECTED. I DIDN’T TRY EATING WITH A CORN TORTILLA. THE NON COOKED ONES JUST DIDN’T APPEAL TO ME. I ATE THEM LIKE CHILI BEANS AND THE JUICE WAS GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The recipe was very good and the family really liked it. Nice taste and all the ingredients went well together. The only problem was the time it took. It really was too long and took too much effort for the ending result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
This recipe was amazing! My family loves tacos, and the addition of these slow-cooked pinto beans made the whole meal change. Be sure to include all of the extras (sour cream, lettuce, tomato, etc.) to get the best flavor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
We liked this meal very much. I added some diced up tomato to the hamburger at the very end of browning it. I would serve it next time with sour cream and feta cheese (or Mexican cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
Didn't care for it. It was a big pain too. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States