Bean and Bacon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
The family enjoyed it. My son said it had a little too much bacon, but it was good. I cooked the onions before adding them to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I decided to be creative with this, so bare with me here. I cooked the bacon 1/2 way in the microwave & then put it in the pot and sauteed the onion with it to cook it through, then took it out & cut it up. Since I have not seen ranch style beans since I was in Texas in 1995 and because I thought this was going to be like, maybe, campbells bean & bacon soup, I decided to wing it and use pork & beans (ha). I also had (left over from another recipe) 1/2 can of tomato sauce & 1/2 can of tomato paste that I had mixed together & used that. I did manage to use the regular chicken broth, and added a little water (due to the addition of the paste). Over all it was pretty good, not exactly like any canned bean & bacon that I've had, but it went together well with grilled cheese. Thanks Lyndell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
excellent tasting, added potato flakes to desired thickness, bacon was left as halved - sorry, i didn't cut the bacon up more. but family enjoyed the recipie - i did too and will definately make it again - also added frozen pkg of corn - all in all it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
Very good soup Lyndell! I used pinto beans and instead of the tomato sauce I added a can of diced tomatoes with chiles. Onion and garlic powder, black pepper and a bit of liquid smoke gave the soup a really good flavor. I pureed most of the soup in my food processor to really thicken it up. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I know this is not consistent with the other reviews, but I have to be honest. I fried the onions first and used beans in molasses. Not using the ranch style beans may have been where I went wrong, but all we could taste was spoonfuls of tomato sauce and beans with some bacon chunks. The soup was very acidic and the taste was not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
3 stars for being relatively quick(aside from the bacon) and easy. The taste was fairly good but much too salty. If I made it again I would substitute plain water for one of the cups of broth to eliminate some of the saltiness and use pre-cooked microwave bacon to make it a true quick and easy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
great base. however, i sauted the onion first in with the mostly cooked bacon. then, did what the recipe said. at the end, i added about a tablespoon of cane sugar (my brown sugar sub.), tabasco and black pepper. was great! esp. with grilled cheese..as mentioned by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I was very pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The cupboards were bare & I didn't feel like going to the store. I had to cook mine longer because my husband doesn't like crunchy onions. Also took another reviewers suggestion & threw in some potato flakes. Served with homemade bread & had an easy, tasty meal. This was only enough for my husband & me (with a little bit left over) so either we are big eaters or this doesn’t make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
A quick and easy soup with a good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I've used the ranch beans before, but since there is some mysterious fatty substance in that can, I switched to pinto beans instead. I just add a little garlic salt, onion salt and a pinch of cayenne pepper, and use probably about 1/3 cup of onion total, and make it as otherwise written. I love this soup! So simple and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States