Bean and Bacon Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I made this with Splenda instead of sugar and added 1/2 cup each: chopped sweet red pepper and chopped green onion. We had it with Calhoun's pork BBQ for a 4th of July picnic. Wow! It was so good and crunchy! Perfect with the BBQ. A 5-star hit for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Would give this 6 *'s if I could. Very fresh. Lots of chopping, but worth it. I'm not very good at measuring "cups" of vegetables--for this recipe I used 1 head of cabbage, 1 small bunch of celery, and 1/2 an onion. We're not big fans of raw onion, so reserved a little bit of bacon grease to cook the onion prior to combining with other ingredients (after draining well). This recipe is a great way to deliciously add cabbage to your diet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This was a hit at the last family BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
I liked the bacon flavor and the vinagrette was tasty, but the appearance wasn't very appealing. It's basically cole slaw with bacon and kidney beans. The bacon was an asset but I didn't care for the kidney beans in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
good quick salad that's good for you and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
VERY Good. I was looking for something to help use up my left over shredded cabbage, and man this was well worth it. They were out of parsley at the store (I know, like you would expect the store to be out of parsley) so I used cilantro instead, which also gave it a nice flavor! Thanks so much, I will munch on this salad for the next few days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We really like the flavors in this salad. Nice blend of tangy and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is a beautiful, easy refreshing salad. It was easy to execute. I used red and white kideney beans for visual interest. Its delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Very good. The beans make it very filling and give it an interesting texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Like a kidney bean coleslaw! This recipe is quick and delicious. I did however change a few of the quantities. I used 3 strips of thick cut bacon instead of the 10 strips this recipe called for and reduced the celery to 1/3 cup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spiceman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States