Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was great bean soup. Our Church did a pig roast last weekend and I used one of the ham bones for the soup. I also added some of the left over pulled pork in addition to ham cubed. It turned out great. I did double the recipe to make a larger pot. Excellent over all. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I'm so happy I took a look at the Custom Version saved by "IAFoodie". I have used their method several times and skipping the overnight soak is such a time saver and it really does work. The soup is perfect every time! I skip the vegetables and always use the leftover ham/bone from the Honey Baked Ham we serve on Holidays. Just add a lot of black pepper and everyone here loves it (even the kids!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Great recipe. I doubled the veggies and added thyme, cayenne, paprika, another bay leaf, and vegetable broth instead of water. Also used the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
WOW! This is truly a sensational soup! I had left over ham with the bone in the freezer and have always wanted to try a bean soup and I'm glad I chose this one! The recipe is really easy to follow. I soaked my beans over night and washed them in baking soda before cooking them. I added 8 cups of water with 4 cups of chicken broth. I also added 3 potatoes and finely chopped the onions and the celery because the kids will eat them only if they can't really see them. Having soaked the beans overnight, they cooked quicker so next time I won't cook for so long. I pureed the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker and added my carrots towards the end because I don't like them mushy. I also added about a tablespoon of pureed jalapenos for a little kick. No ketchup or other spices needed for me! Served with a crusty Italian bread and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jammn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have made this twice already, it's so yummy! Never had used navy beans (Northern Beans) before and couldn't get over how simple this recipe was. Incredible how good these beans are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymaggie03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This soup came out good although I think It needed some kind of tomato product. After if was done I ended added a small can of tomato sauce because that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
this is the closest to my way of doing it,and my way to make this soup is the best way of course,you dont need to add any salt.fresh biscuits or a good grainy corn bread is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natasha376

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This soup tasted wonderful. I will definately use this recipe again. I used a slow cook method, (after the overnight bean soaking.) I also replaced half of the water with chicken broth and added a little garlic, but didnt use a bay leaf. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Yummy! Used four cans of rinsed white beans instead of dry and an reserved ham bone. Added extra carrots, another bay leaf and three Yukon Gold potatoes diced small. Used a combination of chicken stock and water and added extra ham since my hambone did not have enough meat on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Another vote here for using the crockpot. Good soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States