Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I live in high altitude so I had to adjust recipe and used canned beans - This was QUICK! The recipe was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I have been bean soup impaired for many years til I found this. I used the trick with the baking soda. I did cook this longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Even after several recommended changes it was still bland. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet's girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is ham and bean soup the way I remember it. Boyfriend likes to put hot sauce and corn bread in it, I like it just the way it is. Traditional easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Great recipe, especially after it sits a day. I added a little minced garlic and a little more water. I have always liked drop noodles in my thick soups, so I added some when the soup was almost done. I don't really have a recipe for drop noodles, because I just throw them together, but if you ever made noodles from scratch, I am sure you could use that recipe. But, after you make the dough, instead of rolling it out and cutting into noodle strips, you just take the ball of dough and use a teaspoon to cut off little peices of dough and drop them into the soup. They cook almost instantly, but I usually wait and let them boil for 5 to 10 minutes. They float when they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Redmond

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
great base recipe! I had a ham bone to use, which I'd never done before, but the only beans on hand were red beans & kidney beans. I used red beans and it still turned out delicious. Kinda reminded me of the ol' campbells bean'n bacon soup, texture-wise. Better the 2nd day! Otherwise, kept spices the same and found it plenty salty with just the ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frisby0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trempealeau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Wonderful Im glad I found this great receipe to work with, this was my first attempt at soup! I used black eyed peas though, soaked them over night and used a can of diced tomatoes with garlic. I also cooked mine in my crockpot on slow for 8 hours. I So great even my picky son loved it and my husband did as well. Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanab, Utah, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious. I loved Campbell's Bean with Bacon soup as a kid, and this has a similar flavor, but is a much better soup. I use dried pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Used veggie burger instead of ham. Tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is very much like my usual recipe. I do soak my beans overnight. I add a 14.5 oz can of diced tomatos and a couple of fresh sage leaves (julienned) about an hour before serving. Bean soup with sage is a natural combination. But the big difference is that I make ham stock (just like chicken stock, but with a ham bone). Skim the fat off before freezing, and keep it in the freezer for just such a recipe. That way I can omit the stringy, fatty bits in the soup. I add ham back into the soup so I can control bits of fat. I sometimes add a bit of dry white wine (1/2 cup) at the end, if I feel like it. Gives a nice boost of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Bingham-Husk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States