Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
it was great - i thought the texture was nice and thick. will make again when i have a ham bone but will not add the called upon salt (seemed just a little salty). the ham seemed to salt it up enough. I did add extra carrots and celery and ham. As someelse recommended here, i served it with cornbread - what a great meal and just as good on day 2. next time i have a ham bone, i will double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Loved this recipe, easy, tasty, husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This is very similar to my recipe for bean soup and it's excellent! The only thing I do differently, is that I cook everything together, rather than adding the veggies later and cook on low for 5-6 hours. Just before serving, I add 1/4 cup of instant potato flakes to slightly thicken the stock. Don't forget to remove the bay leaf before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I really liked this dish, but I did change a few things. As suggested by other reviewers, I used about 5 cups of chicken broth and 2 cups of water (I omitted the salt altogether). I followed the recipe directions for the beans and they turned out great. I increased the amount of vegetables though and would probably increase to about a cup of each in the future. Once the soup was done, I removed about 1.5 cups of soup and pureed it with my hand blender, added about 1/4 cup ketchp and added that back to the soup. The ketchup added really great flavour and the puree gave the soup a really nice consistency. Apart from adding more vegetables, I will increase the liquid for this soup next time as we did find it a bit more "stew" (rather than soup) like. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
As others recommended, I used the baking soda method for the beans. This recipe was a great base for spicing up! I used 2 whole medium onions - chopped and a whole cup of chopped carrots (didnt use celery as I don't like). I increased the water to 7 cups & chicken broth to 5 cups. I used 2tbsp of minced garlic, 2tsp of ground cumin, couple shakes of black pepper & 1tbsp diced jalapenos. Lastly, after pureeing half the soup, I simmered for an additional hour. This came out wonderful & the family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Very tasty, my kids and husband loved it. Used the soda method, and it worked like a charm. A little watery, will thicken it up next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
An excellant recipe! The same one i had for years and lost. Upon seeing it it brought it all back. The best! I did change a little though. Used 10 cups water and added an extra ham hock and bay leaf. Full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I've always made my ham and navy bean soup this way, with the addition of a can of diced tomatoes or of plain tomato sauce (if the kids didn't want tomato chunks). Season to taste. sometimes I add a bit of thyme as well. Kids always like it and it's a nice hearty soup for the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go-red-sox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
I soaked my beans overnight, like I always do. I put all the ingredients into a slowcooker, set it on low and at dinnertime we had bean soup like I remembered! I grew up putting ketchup in my soup and eating it ladled over thick slices of homemade bread! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Katt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Very good recipe. I thought it was missing something so I did add what my father made when I was young. He used to add ketchup, much like a couple of the other reviewers mentioned. Instead, I added a large can of whole tomatoes. Also, I added about four diced potatoes right near the last 40 minutes. Potatoes make it thicker, which I prefer. I also omitted the salt. Very good with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States