Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have been making this soup for years now, and it always turns out great. I think this is the best bean soup recipe I've ever found. I always add some extra carrots because I love carrots. I use the baking soda method suggested in a review by Barb Maxwell, and did not add the salt the recipe called for because other reviewers suggested that the baking soda added too much sodium. Sometimes I use a ham bone, and sometimes I get ham hocks. Both work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was delicious! I was looking for a recipe for bean soup that I had at a restaurant that was awesome- and this was very close! The only thing I changed was the bay leaf- I did not have one so I left it out and couldn't tell the difference. I also made this in the crockpot and cooked it on low for 12 hours. Very delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I only had canned Navy beans so I pureed half of them and kept the other half whole. I then stirred them into the soup after I removed the bone. I really enjoyed this recipe. It's a nice light and tasty way to use my left over ham. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I used a 20 pkg. of mixed beans, used the baking soda tip and 6 cans low sodium chicken broth along with 1 cup water. Still was a bit salty, but everyone loved it. My first attempt at home made soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was a simple, easy and tasty soup to make. I followed the recipe exactly and added a little mustard powder. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This is a hearty soup and a great place for a leftover ham bone. We like our soup a little thicker. My only suggestion is to use an addition 1/2 cup of beans, puree them in a food processor and add back to the stock at the end. Yummmmmmmmmmm !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My husband and I loved every spoonful of this awesome, awesome, awesome soup! I used smoked turkey meat because I didn't have a ham bone, and omitted the diced ham since the smoked turkey meat was enough. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder and a teaspoon of onion powder (didn't have a fresh onion) and used 3 bay leaves instead of just one. Because this recipe is such a terific base for a variety of bean soups, the changes I made still resulted in an outstanding soup. We'll enjoy this soup many times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
WOW! Outstanding soup! I grew up on Campbell's Bean & Bacon, but will not resort to that again. The flavors of this are much more complex and satisfying. The baking soda trick was GREAT -- be sure to rinse off the beans with cold water a couple times. I made the following alterations: After cooking the beans, I put them and the remaining ingredients into a crock pot and cooked on low overnight. I used two smoked ham shanks instead of a simple ham bone, and used diced smoked turkey kielbasa in place of diced ham. I sauteed the veggies in a little olive oil before adding to the crock pot. Used good, rich chicken stock instead of water and did NOT add any salt. A couple good shakes of Tabasco added the necessary balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I used someone else's suggestion of the boiling & baking soda thing. I then put everything in a crock pot and set it in the fridge overnight. I cooked it on low for about 10 hours. I filled about half my blender with the soup and blended to make the broth thicker. This was really good and the first time I've EVER gotten bean soup to work for me. Next time though I'll add the ham at the end and add a bit of salt (I didn't add mucg salt for fear it would be too salty with the ham and the ham bone). Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this soup last year for our family Christmas party with some beer bread, which you can also find on this site (Beer Bread 1 to be exact). I did soak the beans overnight rather for the hour the recipe calls for. I also doubled the recipe to feed everyone. It was a big hit. Definitely what you expect a bean soup to taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States