Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this recipe and I am sure it would have been fantastic but...I tried another reviewers tip and added the baking soda to the beans after they boiled. I thought I followed the directions but I dont think I rinsed the beans well enough after adding the baking soda. My soup turned out extremely salty! It ruined it. I think this was my mistake so rinse rinse and rinse again so you dont make the same mistake I did and ruin a good pot of soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Barb Maxwell, you are a genius! I have never, EVER had any luck cooking with dried beans, but that baking soda trick works! DH loves Campbell's Bean & Bacon soup, and this is very close (personally, I thought it was better, but maybe that's because I made it...?). I added a couple cubes of chicken broth to up the flavor. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Just OK but worth making again to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I just threw it all in the crock pot for a very long time and added some instant mashed potatoes. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I have NO luck with bean soups in crockpots. I dont know what my deal is - soaked the beans over night and cooked in the crock pot for almost 12 hoours and the beans were still HARD! I give up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
this was good but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I did a few different things. I did the baking soda trick summited by barb maxwell, and no bay leaf, and added garlic powder. I alos added potatoes alone with the celery and carrots and put it all in the slow cooker on low for 8 to 10 hours. Adding the veggies about 1 hour before serving. My family could not get enough of it. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
This was great! I added a little extra celery and carrots and also added about a 1/2 tsp of cayenne because I wanted to add a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I started with this recipe and made a few changes. First, my store didn't have navy beans, so I used great northern beans. I took the advice of others and use 4 c. chicken stock and 3 c. water. I also didn't use a ham bone. Finally, I added 3 c. diced ham and 1 c. each of carrots and celery. This was just the right amount of ham and veggies. I soaked the beans overnight, then let it cook all day in the crockpot on low. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I really liked this soup. Served with some warm cornbread, it makes a satisfying meal on a cold winter night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2BakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States