Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Doubled the recipe for this soup, which was very good. Kinda messed up my measurements which mostly went by my taste. Had a huge hambone with lots of meat, tried the baking soda trick, that was cool! Doubled up the veggies and added no salt, just boullion powder to taste and pepper. I made the extra to freeze for lazy days. I wouldn't have minded some tomatoes or tomato sauce but loved this soup. Served with beer bread from this site. Nice wintertime meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preshie from CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was excellent and filling. I did add chicken broth instead of water, and I let it cook longer at a low heat. Even my VERY picky son loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was awesome! I ended up adding a can of ckn broth for more liquid since some evaporated and it was excellent! I needed to use some leftover honey baked ham and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was excellent! I like my soup sweet, so I added a bit of brown sugar and ketchup. Yummy! Great flavor even without my additions! My husband loved it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Godfrey, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I tried this recipe and I am sure it would have been fantastic but...I tried another reviewers tip and added the baking soda to the beans after they boiled. I thought I followed the directions but I dont think I rinsed the beans well enough after adding the baking soda. My soup turned out extremely salty! It ruined it. I think this was my mistake so rinse rinse and rinse again so you dont make the same mistake I did and ruin a good pot of soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Barb Maxwell, you are a genius! I have never, EVER had any luck cooking with dried beans, but that baking soda trick works! DH loves Campbell's Bean & Bacon soup, and this is very close (personally, I thought it was better, but maybe that's because I made it...?). I added a couple cubes of chicken broth to up the flavor. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
Just OK but worth making again to use up leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I just threw it all in the crock pot for a very long time and added some instant mashed potatoes. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makuplver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Dardenne Prairie, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I have NO luck with bean soups in crockpots. I dont know what my deal is - soaked the beans over night and cooked in the crock pot for almost 12 hoours and the beans were still HARD! I give up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
this was good but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States