Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I think this is a great recipe, but it definitely needs seasoning. I added parsley, basil, oregano, thyme (1 tsp. each) and 1/2 tsp. Coleman's mustard and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. I shredded the carrots and 2 potatoes as the potatoes thicken it up. When done, 30 minutes before serving, I added 2/3 cup sour cream. Yum! The other thing that I changed were the beans. I had several half-bags of different beans, (kidney, navy, pinto and another small bag of mixed, dry veggies/beans) and it was fabulous! Oh yes, someone mentioned using soda, which works great, too, but my grandma used to put salt in her beans when she soaked them overnight. It was the easiest way to ALWAYS get the beans done properly, as sometimes the skin seemed tough. Amazing what 3 tsp. of salt added to the cold water did. Nancy S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good soup! Followed recipe except drained water in beans following standing time and replaced with unsalted chicken stock and water 50/50 approximately 8 cups total.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Loved this soup! I used chicken broth, added a can of crushed tomatoes and garlic. I also fried bacon with the vegetables. Than made a roue(equal parts butter and flour) to thicken. It was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe is awesome, the carrots and celery are definitely good choices. I spice mine up a hell of a lot more but I really enjoyed this, thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I didn't modify this other than using chicken broth instead of water (didn't add any extra salt then), and I used the fast boil/baking soda method to shorten the cook time. My 3-year-old had thirds! This is the one who doesn't even eat dinner usually! I thought it was super easy and tasty. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is one of my favorite soup recipes! The only ingredient I modified is the salt. The ham and ham bone add enough saltiness for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We really loved this recipe. I fixed it as written except I used less beans and substituted half the water for chicken broth b/c I Did NOT use the bone. I cooked it in my new electric pressure cooker which i love. Just put it all in, program it, and it comes out perfect every time. Such an easy way to cook dried beans! Will be fixing again but will use the full bag of beans as written next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Minus 10 in Minnesota - thumbs down. This recipe - thumbs up! We followed the recipe as written with the exception of using a carton of chicken broth in place of 4 cups of water. Delicious - simple and elegant. Thank you Pat Keene.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MisDGurl
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is an easy recipe and full of flavor!! I will NEVER use a different recipe. My whole family loved the soup. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karisma
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Very simple with beautiful flavor. Like other reviewers, I used chicken broth and increased veggies from half to a full cup. I also used a total of 5 bay leaves, added thyme, and a pinch of savory. I did not have a ham bone, so I just threw in two strips of uncooked bacon for the flavor and fat. (I did use the diced ham.) I omitted the salt since it was in the broth. I threw everything in the pot brought it to a boil for 10 minutes and then low simmer for 1 hour with lid on. After, I took the lid off and let it cook down for added flavor for another 30 mins. Oh before I forget, I just soaked the beans overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States