Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I loved this! It was surprisingly filling for a light, vegetarian soup. I loved the kale, tomato, and white bean combination. I also think it's genius to puree some of the beans to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Huge fan of this soup! My brother and pregnant sister-in-law were coming over for dinner with their three year old, and my husband and I are vegetarians. My brother gave the kale a look as if I had dropped a mouse into his soup, but after one bite, he was hooked. All the adults ended up going back for seconds, and in my proudest moment of the night, the three year old tried her mom's soup and declared "Oh mama, I like this!" I followed the recipe pretty closely. We are huge garlic fans, so the amount requested was not too much for us, although we do typically use more garlic than many recipes call for, so if you are sensitive to garlic - consider using less. I also added in 8oz of crimini mushrooms and one can of diced tomatoes at my brother's request. For broth, I prefer the Better Than Bullion "No Chicken Base" for vegetarian soups. It has a much better flavor than many mushroom based broths, and a little goes a long way! I let the soup simmer about 30 min instead of 15, but it was still pretty tasty at 15 minutes. We topped ours with a few scallions instead of parsley, and we served this with a crusty sourdough bread. The next day - the leftovers were even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Excellent! Love how simple this was to make and the flavor is amazing. Ended up skipping the broth. This will be a regular for us. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Great recipe! It is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Delish!!! I just made this with a few additions. I added carrots, zucchini and some pasta. Also added tomatoe sauce, I didn't have any tomatoes. It was the first time I ever had kale and it was wonderful. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Great soup - but the key is making your own broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Hearty and absolutely delicious! Tried the original recipe and it was perfection. I wanted to incorporate more vegetables in my diet so I added zucchini and okra...it only added to the myriad of flavors. I also added Scotch Bonnet pepper for some spice. I could eat this every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I omitted the onion and parsley- upped chicken broth to 7 cups, added 3/4 cup dry orzo and cubed uncooked chicken breasts and cooked it in my pressure cooker for 10 minutes. I also used canned tomatoes, because that's what I had. We sprinkled some fresh grated parmesan on and it was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was a really nice surprise. I should have chopped the kale smaller, but the flavor and ease of this recipe was great! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Better than I expected. It was quite flavorful given the simple ingredients and relatively easy to make. I will consider doubling and freezing half next time. I'm not experienced with kale so I did not include its thick ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States