Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ended up trying this recipe because I had kale that I didn't know what to do with. This was the BEST tasting soup ever! It was even better the next day. The kale really added to the taste of the soup to give it that extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Okay, this is so delicious I had to comment. I used the pastine white kidney beans and canned tomatoes and this really pleased everyone in the house. I love kale because it's healthy, but I have a hard time eating it :) This soup however, makes it quite easy. I also throw some spinach in towards the end, just because :) Oh I also don't have italian seasoning so I just threw in a bunch of parsley while cooking. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Yummy!! I was very surprised at how the seasonings created a unique tasting bean soup. I will definitely do this again!! Love having a new way to eat more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I liked it, was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was great...I added spicy chorizo and did not blend the beans with the last bit of broth..even so, I thought it a bit thick and will add more liquid the next time I make it. I made it the day before I served it, and put some parm cheese on the top...with a bit of extra hot sauce, as well.. I will definatelyf make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I used fresh spinach from my garden instead of kale. Used two bay leaves and a little cayenne pepper, along with remaining ingredience. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really great soup! Can easily be tweaked if you'd like. I used organic truRoots dehydrated sprouted bean trio (lentils, adzuki, and mung beans). Rehydrated the beans separately then added to recipe. Also added about a tablespoon of small pieces of smoked pancetta which I browned separately in some olive oil then added to the soup. Also added 2 tsp of lemon juice. I did cut the kale into small pieces, but since I was to be feeding this to my 2 year old I took my hand held immersion blender and ended up blending some more. Perfect! I completely puréed some that I kept aside to feed my 9 month old. He loved it! Will make again and again with leftovers to freeze! Will try with pasta or rice, and adding pieces of ham or sausage. If you'd like, you can easily make it thicker or not by adding less or more liquid. Top with Parmigiano. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Added carrots and celery. Also followed another reviewer and simmered uncovered for 15 minutes and then covered for 20 minutes to intensify the favor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Very healthy and surprisingly delicious! I followed the recipe as written, except I omitted the parsley at the end. I might have used more kale than suggested (not sure, used 1 bunch, chopped). Using the blender to puree some of the broth and beans was key. My husband and I loved it and the kids both liked it well enough (each ate their whole serving). I served it with tomato and swiss cheese sandwiches on pumpernickel. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Very tasty. Cooked it pretty much as-is, except that I mashed the remaining beans manually and simmered the soup for about an hour and a half to let the flavors mix all together. It was a big hit with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States