Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Sooo delicious. The only change I made was I used less garlic, about 4 cloves, and added 3 carrots and about 1 cup of broccoli. Also I added a few dashes of red pepper flakes, because I put that sh*t on everything! Super healthy, beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Alimonos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
The key to kale having a nicer texture is to massage it (seriously....google it..haha) about five minutes before preparing the recipe. Other than that, I followed Marim's tip and used a little extra garlic and a small can of diced tomatoes in place of the plum tomatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Wanting to extend my palate, I bought kale for the first time and made this soup. It was awesome and is a new favourite. Unfortunately, I did run into some kinks and had to make the following modifications based on what I had on hand: just 1 can of beans, medium chunky salsa plus some ketchup instead of tomatoes. In the future, I'll use more bean as well as fresh tomatoes (and no ketchup). I expect to still add salsa though as I liked how spicy it was with that addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Good, mild soup. Spinach would have also been good instead of kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gurl_cbl
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Loved it! I subbed chopped carrots for the tomatoes, next time I'll add both. Great with some Parmesan grated on top. Thanks for the delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Do yourself a favor and add the cayenne pepper at the end as someone suggested. The soup was good but the Cayenne pepper gave it that special kick. I would've never expected for it to make such a profound difference. I also put a parmesan rind in the soup and didnt blend it because I was too lazy. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renata Rosenblatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Love this soup!! I didn't have any plum tomatoes so I substitutted with a 28 oz. can of crushed plum tomatoes and it worked out great!! Also, didn't have fresh parsley so I used about half cup of dried parsley. Soup was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This soup was super easy to make and amazingly tasty! I can't wait to eat leftovers. I think I'm going to free some too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I changed this recipe by using yellow plum tomatoes. I also used red leaf lettuce in place of kale. I added a few chopped radishes and some snap peas about 5 minutes before finishing. After tasting I added some cayenne pepper and it blended well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Great Recipe. I used 2 cans of tomatoes instead of fresh. One spicy, one regular. It was really good!! My kids even liked it. I would chop the kale pretty small. Big pieces can be tough, even after simmering for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States