Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Loved it! I had some left over fresh collards and used that instead the first time I made it. My 20 year old son and I couldn't get enough of it. Used the fresh kale the second time and found the leaves too tough. I sauteed it longer and cooked it in the soup longer and was still too tough. I will still make this again using a different green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugaSuga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Used only Cannellini beans from the can and the rest were fresh items . Added fresh cut carrots with the onions and garlic to saute .2 Vegetable cubes were substituted for the low fat ,low sodiun chicken or vegetable broth . My husband absolutely loved it and the smell in the kitchen too .Took some to my co worker and she was like " Please bring me this recipe ."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marga Bassett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this soup exactly as written besides the addition of two sweet potatoes I needed to get rid of. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swedishjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I ended up trying this recipe because I had kale that I didn't know what to do with. This was the BEST tasting soup ever! It was even better the next day. The kale really added to the taste of the soup to give it that extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katina Persinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Okay, this is so delicious I had to comment. I used the pastine white kidney beans and canned tomatoes and this really pleased everyone in the house. I love kale because it's healthy, but I have a hard time eating it :) This soup however, makes it quite easy. I also throw some spinach in towards the end, just because :) Oh I also don't have italian seasoning so I just threw in a bunch of parsley while cooking. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Yummy!! I was very surprised at how the seasonings created a unique tasting bean soup. I will definitely do this again!! Love having a new way to eat more kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I liked it, was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was great...I added spicy chorizo and did not blend the beans with the last bit of broth..even so, I thought it a bit thick and will add more liquid the next time I make it. I made it the day before I served it, and put some parm cheese on the top...with a bit of extra hot sauce, as well.. I will definatelyf make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I used fresh spinach from my garden instead of kale. Used two bay leaves and a little cayenne pepper, along with remaining ingredience. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really great soup! Can easily be tweaked if you'd like. I used organic truRoots dehydrated sprouted bean trio (lentils, adzuki, and mung beans). Rehydrated the beans separately then added to recipe. Also added about a tablespoon of small pieces of smoked pancetta which I browned separately in some olive oil then added to the soup. Also added 2 tsp of lemon juice. I did cut the kale into small pieces, but since I was to be feeding this to my 2 year old I took my hand held immersion blender and ended up blending some more. Perfect! I completely puréed some that I kept aside to feed my 9 month old. He loved it! Will make again and again with leftovers to freeze! Will try with pasta or rice, and adding pieces of ham or sausage. If you'd like, you can easily make it thicker or not by adding less or more liquid. Top with Parmigiano. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States