Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2005
My husband suffers from macular degeneration and was told to eat as much kale as he possibly can. I've tried many different recipes but he enjoyed this more than any of the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
Easy, delicious and healthy. I ended up using left over kale from the "kale stir fry" recipe (which I didn't like) and it turned out fine. This soup is hearty and surpisingly good. Would be even better (but not as healthy) if you add some kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
This soup is really great! Make sure you get the reduced sodium chicken broth (kale is very salty). I added some tofu for an extra protein punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is a great, tasty soup---and very healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
I have used this recipe since I saw it in an article on eye health. It is one of our favorites. I sometimes substitute one can of Dark kidney beans for one of Cannellini and I blend the kidney beans for thickening. It varies it a little and is just as great. We love it either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
delightful! I added a tiny bit of salt to it, but wouldn't characterize it as bland at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I washed the kale several times & removed the leaves from the center stalk. As I omitted the dried Italian herb seasoning (due to family preference), I added some crushed red pepper flakes for flavor. If the soup's too thick, just add more broth. I sprinkled parmesan on top at the table too. You probably could substitute escarole for the kale as well if you wanted to vary the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
So good!!! Very healthy soup & suprisingly flavorful! I wanted to try kale, but was a bit hesitant to make this soup because it didn't look like it had enough "spice". I was SO wrong. This is a soup I can make again & again. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very tasty. I would only use 3 cups stock and 1 cup water if am to make it again. As you use the liquid from the beans the soup does not need added salt. I did add chilli flakes as another user mentioned as well as oregano. The soup is filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
This soup is very healthy and tastes so great.My husband just loved it.The flavors mingle really well.Mixing part of the beans in a blender gives the soup the nice creamy look and taste.It is a keeper for my family.Chopping the veggies takes a bit of time.So I would recommend using a machine.Double the recipe and freeze the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States