Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Really great soup! Can easily be tweaked if you'd like. I used organic truRoots dehydrated sprouted bean trio (lentils, adzuki, and mung beans). Rehydrated the beans separately then added to recipe. Also added about a tablespoon of small pieces of smoked pancetta which I browned separately in some olive oil then added to the soup. Also added 2 tsp of lemon juice. I did cut the kale into small pieces, but since I was to be feeding this to my 2 year old I took my hand held immersion blender and ended up blending some more. Perfect! I completely puréed some that I kept aside to feed my 9 month old. He loved it! Will make again and again with leftovers to freeze! Will try with pasta or rice, and adding pieces of ham or sausage. If you'd like, you can easily make it thicker or not by adding less or more liquid. Top with Parmigiano. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Added carrots and celery. Also followed another reviewer and simmered uncovered for 15 minutes and then covered for 20 minutes to intensify the favor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
Very healthy and surprisingly delicious! I followed the recipe as written, except I omitted the parsley at the end. I might have used more kale than suggested (not sure, used 1 bunch, chopped). Using the blender to puree some of the broth and beans was key. My husband and I loved it and the kids both liked it well enough (each ate their whole serving). I served it with tomato and swiss cheese sandwiches on pumpernickel. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Very tasty. Cooked it pretty much as-is, except that I mashed the remaining beans manually and simmered the soup for about an hour and a half to let the flavors mix all together. It was a big hit with my friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Very yummy. I added chicken breast to this and shredded after it was cooked thru. I didn't bother to smash up some of the beans as I knew that shredding the chicken and letting it simmer would thicken it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I was looking for another way to use kale and was pleasantly surprised that this soup was even better than I'd hoped it would be. Next time I'll add even more kale, as it can handle it. It would be delicious with chopped ham added, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
My Italian Grandmother used to make "Bean Soup" every Friday, especially during Lent. This tastes so much like it; it took me back to my childhood. She used cauliflower instead of Kale, but the taste is the same and the Kale gives it a nice color and used tomato paste, instead of chopped tomatoes. But, really it is basically the same recipe. She always mashed all of the beans, even in her Italian version of Chili. It makes the soup so full-bodied. Her "Bean Soup" was served over homemade Graham Bread. She filled a big bowl with a whole loaf of chunked up Graham Bread and then poured the pot of soup over it. The bread soaked up the soup and it was very substantial. I think when I make this next time, I will add a bit of bulgur wheat. It has the same taste as the Graham Bread. I do that when I make Grandma's soup. It adds a nice nutty flavor and also is very healthy. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Made this tonight. Wasn't thrilled about blending the beans but had no idea they were even there. I could not taste the kale which is a huge plus. I added tomatoes and red peppers and it really sweetened it up. My carnivorous husband had seconds. I will be making this weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Excellent as written. Will be making often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Fine and dandy but use organic ingredients to prepare this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States