Bean Soup With Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made as written and thought it was okay. Some changes that I have since made are I use butter and cook the onion garlic, added carrot and potatoes (2 of each) and until the onions are translucent. I used one can of white navy beans and blended them in their own juice until smooth the. I added all ingredients to the crock pit and cooked on high. My family loved it and I serve with warm corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I like that this is a healthy soup that does not involve a lot of prep work. I also like the idea of thickening the soup with pureed beans, but using those beans for thickening only left a few in the soup. I would add in additional beans next time, especially since that is the only part my two year olds like to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
We had a pretty long and sporadic winter this year in Washington, D.C., and while I was on a kale binge (with tons left over from a salad), I decided to search out a soup involving the green superfood. I stumbled across this highly reviewed recipe and I was more than impressed. I love how the soup depends a lot on the natural flavors of the vegetables (and how much better does it feel to pick and chop your own veggies? Fresh.). My only addition to this recipe was a couple chopped carrots to add to the heartiness of the soup, although I am really curious about adding butternut squash. My boyfriend loved it, and my little brother, not too fond of kale, ate it without any comments on the kale other than the soup being good. Heartwarming dish for the winter, or for an easy dish that can be eaten throughout the week. Great with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this true to recipe, and it was awesome! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This soup was so good!! I wanted to start using kale in my diet and was looking for a recipe that was simple to use. I read some reviews to get tips and followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have plum tomatoes but a chunky vegetable soup with them in it. I strained the soup and used the vegetables. I also had some mushrooms so sauted baby portabello mushrooms with the onions. This came out so well and definitely will make again. Thanks for the recipe now other kale recipes will have to live up to this standard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Love this soup! When I made it this time I did 3tsp of base to 4 cups of water to dilute the salty broth a bit. I also used 4 roma tomatoes, popped them in when the recipe calls and when they had cooked enough for the skin to peel pulled them out, peeled and chopped, then added them back in. I try to use fresh whenever possible. Topping with a touch of Parmesan (or three cheese blend) is tasty, and a good loaf of garlic/herb bread on the side. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Easy 15m w/lid on, 15m off Fine chop greens Added 1/4c fine shredded carrots At the end add 1tbsp lemon juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I added Italian sausage and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This was very good and I felt good eating such healthy soup. I will probably make again and play with the ingredients a bit to make it a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This recipe was delicious. The only thing I changed was that I used a can if diced tomatoes cause I was too lazy to chop my own. Still came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States