Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is a great dip, but I had a few changes. First off, take away the veg. oil, there is no need for it. Remove the garbanzo beans. Replace with chili (spelling?) beans. Double the lime juice. Salsa increased to 12oz, and add a teaspoon of chives (or one shoot of freshly chopped scallion [green onion]). Add 2 (or 3) chopped, pickled jalapeños. Add a pinch of salt and a bit of ground black pepper. Much better! :D 4/5 for my recipe. I will be modifying again next time. Will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
This recipe didn't have much flavor and I didn't like the taste of the garbanzo beans with the chili powder. The recipe tastes mainly of chili powder. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Easy to make and very tasty! Goes well with guacamole and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This took 5 minutes to throw together. My husband and I LOVE it, as do my kids!! Instead of parsely use fresh cilanto! Also experiment with other beans! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
Although I have not made this recipe yet, it sounds quite tasty! I will be making it with raw, sprouted beans and home made salsa with fresh peppers and cilantro to fit my raw vegan lifestyle. I'll post when I have done the taste test. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is awesome as a dip on tortilla chips! Instead of the chili powder, I added 4 shakes of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipolte seasoning. It was delish!!!! I am making again right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamas Soup Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm always on the lookout for new bean recipes, and this one was pretty good. I'm only making meals for two, and I used dry beans, so I cut down the amount of beans by half. I didn't have any salsa, so I chopped up a few tomatoes.. (they weren't overly juicy, so it still seemed slightly lacking in the liquid department.. but that was my fault..) I made a basic pico de gallo as the salsa, (tomatoes, jalapeno, onion, lots and lots of cilantro and garlic). I used the full amount of everything else, and I added half a red pepper, and half a yellow pepper. Hubby said that he liked it a lot, but it was missing 'something'... I think it was salt... because I used dried beans.. I'll probably make it again.. but my recipe box has SOOOO many recipes in it that I want to try... who knows when I'll get around to it.. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was quite good! My boyfriend made it for just the two of us, so we used one can of 6 bean blend and scaled everything else down. It had a great spicy flavour and the corn was the best part, a great contrast to the texture of the beans. Next time I'll add cilantro, I think it would go perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PolkaDot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Quick, easy and versatile. I omitted the parsley, and added freshly snipped cilantro. Also threw in some finely diced onion left over from a different bean salad recipe. Thanks, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Very tasty! This is another one that needs to "marinate" for a few days. Stretched the half-jar of salsa I had with some red wine vinegar and used a bag of prepared "mixed beans," which were navy, pinto and I think kidney. Once I had it in the storage container I sprinkled some Frank's Red Hot on top. I'd like it hotter, but for most it probably already has plenty of kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HealthFoodPlease
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States