Bean Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
I have been looking for this recipe for ever as a restaurant near us serves this on their salad bar. So happy to find it on this site! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zenaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I scaled this recipe down to use one can of beans. I didn't have dry mustard so I subbed wasabi powder (1/4 tsp.) I used 1/4 c. mayo and 3 T. relish and a dash of granulated garlic in lieu of the garlic. I added white pepper and a ground pepper medley. I mixed everything together and let it sit in the fridge overnight; delicious! I wish I would have made more since everyone loved it. It reminded me of my Dad's homemade ham salad replacing the ham with beans. We prefered serving this over Ritz crackers which adds a buttery dimension to this recipe. Next time I will definitely make more and drain the pickle relish and perhaps add some white beans if I don't have several cans of the kidney beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Can't say, I totally liked this. I have to say. I scaled the recipe down to 2 cans, made it to a T for all measurements. And it was very runny and very very pickly tasting. Even tasting the beans, the relish totally over whelmed th taste buds. Don't get me wrong, I know it's a BEAN relish. But the underdog in this recipe is the beans. I ended up adding a 3rd can to accomendate the runny-ness of the mayo and relish...it helped. Not sure if I'd make this again. It just didn't do it for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Addictive! I did not have white pepper, but otherwise followed the recipe. I did lightly smash the beans with a fork, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good. My kids love it (even my picky one:) Makes a great afternoon snack with some crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Surprisingly great! Truly enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I didn't really care for this, but I think that it is one of those tastes taht you either love or don't love. The predominate taste was the sweet relish. I scaled the recipe back to use 2 cans of kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Tasted like tuna salad only with beans- not that bad, but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Delicious. I've never been to New England (hopefully someday!), but we always had kidney bean salad along with potato salad & macaroni salad at every BBQ. This recipe is the same that I had growing up, with the addition of garlic. I can't believe that this recipe calls for SEVEN 16-oz cans of beans for 10 servings. No wonder we are such a heavy nation. I made my version with fat-free mayo. I made no other changes. It is so good. If you find fat-free mayo a bit too sweet, add a splash of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Racedogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Grantsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Mira, a sweet relish is a sweet pickle relish found in the condiment aisle of your grocer. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Halibut Steaks with Bacon Bean Relish

See how to make easy pan-seared halibut steaks with bacon and bean relish.

Spicy Bean Salsa

This spicy salsa stars black beans, corn, and a tangy dressing.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States