Bean Rarebit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Glowiie
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I LICKED THE PLATE CLEAN. That's all I have to say. This recipe is flexible for what you have on hand, though I did try to stay close to the original. I used honey mustard because I didn't have dijon, and I doubled the white beans for extra protein and fiber, and reduced fat cheese (on a diet in which I an eat whatever I want that fits the food budget!). The flavor is fantastic, it only took about 15 min to make, and it's cheap. What more could you want? I may add a few additional seasonings to tailor for my own taste (garlic, maybe cayenne...), but even the base recipe is phenomenal. Thanks to you and your mother for this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I have made this several times. I love it, but it is definitely a folksy comfort dish, and so quick and easy to make. I gave it 4 stars because my teenagers will not even try it. Their loss - more for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made it just as written. Everyone in the family loved it and it was inexpensive, filling, and easy. What more could I ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
So quick, easy, & delicious! I had a package of mixed beans that I used, but white beans would work just as well. I'll be saving this recipe for years to come! I made a large batch & added the leftovers to a pot of white chili that was being made-great addition! It thickens up very quickly, so watch it & stir frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This recipe was introduced to me by a friend and I fell in love right away. I like how easy it is to make and that it stretches easily to feed extra people. The leftovers also freeze really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I really enjoyed this. I had to try it because it reminded me of a similar dish my mom used to make (well, it seemed similar to me). I grew up overseas, and our diet was pretty limited to our garden, what produce came down the trail on it's way to market, and a limited array of canned-type foods we ordered in from the "big city" once or twice a year. Among these "special" treats were canned, yes, canned hot dogs. Sort of Vienna sausage-esque, but bigger. Although I shudder to think of eating it now, hot dog gravy on toast was the pinnacle of childhood comfort food. Only difference was no cheese. There WAS no cheese out there! I'm happy to admit that this far surpassed hot dog gravy, and the fried egg on top really nailed it to the door. Thanks for this fun (but better!) throwback to my rural upbringing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Warm and rich. The fried egg on top is a nice touch. Not something you want to eat if you are trying to lose weight...but I'm not, so I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Boy, does this bring back memories. It has been eons since I’ve heard the word rarebit. I used my Panini press to toast a baguette I had sliced lengthwise, and then added sliced tomatoes to the toasted bread, and gently grilled. I topped it with the cheese mixture which had the added bonus of the white beans. What a fabulous meatless meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Lord have mercy! This is GOOD! I made it exactly like the recipe except I made twice the amount and used a mixture of pinto beans, navy beans and black beans. I tasted it to make sure its actually good, and finally stopped myself after the fifth big bite. This is comfort food and so tasty! We shall have it over hot biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefrickle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I would have never thought of adding beans to rarebit but it added a nice heartiness and texture to this cozy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

White Bean and Artichoke Salad

This simple chilled bean salad is dressed with olive oil and wine vinegar.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Greek Garbanzo Bean Salad

A quick-and-easy Greek salad with garbanzo beans and a zesty dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States