Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
i thought this recipe was awesome. the only thing i did different was instead of frying them,(seemed too time consuming)i put the mixture on top of little tortillas, sprinkled it with cheese, and baked them in the oven for 10 minutes at 350. then i topped them with sour cream and guacamole. its sooooooooooo good, and the tortillas get nice and crispy. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Pretty good. I found an answer to the flipping problem. I mashed the beans with a fork. I did saute ALL the veggies. Then added cumin, chili powder, chili flakes, and some chopped jalepeno. And salt and pepper. Added the beans and cooked a little longer. You now have a sort of paste that spreads on the tortillas. Push down a little and it flips perfectly. For those of us who can't use a whole can of beans at once. I cook up a big pot of black beans till just done but firm. Drain. Put them on a cookie sheet and cover with plastic. Freeze. In the morning put them in a big freezer bag a freeze till you need some. You can just grab a handful anytime you need them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
To me this recipe is a good start. The flavors work well together but some items were a little out of proportion. For instance, 1 cup of cheese (if you're making 6) is way too little. Also, you'll note that many other reviewers were adding other things. That's because on it's own it lacks character. Next time I'm going to add some jalepenos or crushed red pepper. As far as the frying, I don't see why it was necessary. I spritzed the pan with some olive oil before putting the tortilla in the pan and it worked phenomenally well. Nice, golden and crunchy. Forget a quarter cup and just squirt some olive oil into the pan before each quesadilla goes in. Like I said, a very good start and I will make this again with a number of revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
This is a great recipe! The canned black beans I found also had jalapeno, which I picked out when rinsing, but the flavor remaining still gave the mix quite a 'kick'. Instead of frying, I brushed the tortillas with olive oil (and also topped with more of the cheese) and baked at 400 degrees for about 5 minutes (could go longer if you like them crunchy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
While this isn't gourmet in any way, it certaintly is yummy. I folded the tortillas in half, and then filled them, much less dangerous than flipping a full tortilla. I'd urge you to try this if you're looking for something simple that people are guaranteed to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
DELISH!!! I used the big tortillas and brushed it with extra virgin olive oil and baked it in the oven at 400 for a couple min. My husband who is extremly picky and always insists on meat for dinner loved it as well, Thanks for sharing this recipe I will definetley be making this for dinner agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I wanted to update this since we've made changes since the first time. We omitted the corn and tomato and added mushrooms, which I sautee in butter, garlic and a bit of wine, then we add the chopped onion and the juice from one lime and sautee a bit more, then add chopped red pepper and a bit of lime zest. Sautee a bit more then add 1/8 cup water and the rinsed beans. Cook until heated through, make the quesadillas and cook in the over (350) until crisp and melty. I recently served this for dinner with a 12 year old and he LOVED it. Didn't even care that there was no meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a great recipe. Just the filling is so versatile. I've made the delicious quesadillas many times, and I use the leftover bean filling to make fantastic omelets. You can spread it over tortilla chips with some cheese and pop in the microwave for instant nachos. I've even tossed the leftover filling in vegetable broth with a little cooked rice and made a great soup! Delicious, cheap, no meat, what more could you ask for???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
This is an okay start. I made this a lot more streamlined by using salsa in place of the tomatoes, onions, etc, and just mixed it with the black beans. Also, I love refried beans and salsa, so I added that also, and had a chunky paste to spread on. Instead of taking the time to assemble these then try to move them, I just assembled them in the pan. I put the tortilla in the heated pan, carefully spread on the filling, sprinkled with cheese, then flipped. Not a bad start, but I think it would be pretty plain without the refried beans. Also, I is more than enough for four servings IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Made a great lunch for us this afternoon. I used garlic powder and sprinkled some cumin and chili powder in the mix. I baked my tortillas at 400 for about 15 minutes and they were perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States