Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a good start...could use a little fajita seasoning and/or garlic salt. Also, works well to smash the black beans a little so that they act as more of a binder and your filling isn't rolling all over the place. Plus, it's so hard to flip quesadillas that are assembled with one tortilla on top and one on the bottom. I like to put filling on one half of tortilla and fold it over to make a half-moon shape. Much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I made a few changes, but the main thing I wanted to comment on was the cooking method I used...a panini press. It works great for these and doesn't dry out the tortilla like baking them in the oven and you'll avoid the potential mess that could ensue from trying to flip them in a frying pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allen Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
My entire family just ate these. I repeat. My husband and two children ate beans and vegetables! Awesome recipe. I used homemade beans; green, red and yellow peppers because thats what I had; added salsa instead of the tomatoes and used someone else's recommendation to bake in the oven for 10 mins on 350. Quick, easy, healthy and delicious! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janie vw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Good, but trying to flip the quesadillas was a real pain. Alot of the filling spilled out. Tasted good could use a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
good added shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Overall this was a HUGE hit with my party. Everyone loved it and it was great for even my vegetarian friends. It was cheap to feed a large amount of people and it was so delicious! =) I coated the outsides of each tortilla with vegetable oil and baked it at 400 deg. for 3-6 minutes. This recipe is a great base that you can make so many variations with. I omitted the green pepper and added re-fried beans and salsa. The salsa adds flavor and spice and the re-fried beans makes a nice creamy spread without crushing the black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Good basic recipe, but it needs much more flavor. I added homemade taco seasoning, cilantro and instead of black beans I used pinto beans just because I prefer this way. Baked at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe and really easy. We add cayenne pepper to add some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
fun and easy dish to make. no real cooking skills needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I thought this was really good. I followed the ingredients except for the cheddar. I substituted a bag of Mexican cheese because that's what I had on hand. I also baked them in the oven at 350 for 8 or 9 minutes, flipping them halfway because they were curling. Next time I think I'll get my big electric griddle out and cook them with some olive oil. I was skeptical at first because I don't normally like black beans, but this surprised me. My husband liked it, and he's usually a big meat eater. He said it reminded him of Southwest Eggrolls. All we needed was some avocado ranch dip. We both agreed that it needed some seasoning, maybe taco seasoning. I'll definitely be fixing this one again. It's pretty cheap meal too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States